Carrot Ginger Soy Dressing

Recipe

This dressing is the BEST! Tastes like the Ginger dressing you get at a sushi restaurant! The first time I did this recipe I did it in my food processor as I didn’t have a blender. I recommend doing it in a blender as it is smoooooth…

ALSO the recipe calls for Iceberg Lettuce and I had green leaf lettuce, it does go better with iceberg. So I HIGHLY recommend what the recipe calls for…

(I doubled the recipe)

2 medium carrots, peeled, ends trimmed and sliced
2-inch piece ginger, peeled and roughly chopped
2 shallots, peeled and sliced
3 tablespoons soy sauce
1/4 cup rice wine vinegar
1/4 cup water
1 tablespoon superfine sugar
3 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 teaspoon salt
DSC_0162-1

1 large head Iceberg lettuce, quartered and cored (I used Green leaf as that is all I had at the time I made this)
Freshly chopped cilantro leaves, for garnish
1 large red Thai chile, seeded, deveined and thinly sliced, for garnish

Combine the carrots,
DSC_0166-1

ginger,
DSC_0169-1

DSC_0171

shallots,
DSC_0172-1

DSC_0174-1

soy sauce,
DSC_0176-1

vinegar,
DSC_0177-1

water,
DSC_0178-1

sugar,
DSC_0179-1

DSC_0180-1

and vegetable oil in a blender
DSC_0182-1

and puree until dressing becomes a slightly thick sauce. Season with the salt.
DSC_0186-1

DSC_0188-1

DSC_0189-1

DSC_0190-1

DSC_0191-1

DSC_0197-1

pour the dressing over the top of whatever lettuce you use. Finish with cilantro and chile.

DSC_0237-1

One thought on “Carrot Ginger Soy Dressing

Leave a Reply

