Seared Sea Scallops with Butter, Olive oil, Salt and Pepper

My favorite seafood is scallops! I LOVE Scallops! LOVE! They are my chocolate! So when I made these I got us some extra special scallops from Whole Foods for Normy and me. What makes Whole Foods Scallops so special? Well they are the best scallops I have bought and they aren’t cheap! But you get what you pay for and they melted in our mouths!

So we got a pound and a 1/2 of sea scallops – THE BEST kind of scallops EVER!
DSC_0154-1

So Normy rinsed them under cold water and took the beards off of them.

Then he dried them really well with paper towels and placed them on a plate

DSC_0158-1

Then I seasoned them with salt and pepper (real simple recipe)
DSC_0165-1

DSC_0167-1

Then I preheated 2 cast iron skillets and did about 1 tbsp of butter and 1 tbsp of olive oil and turned the skillet up to high and got them smoking hot as I wanted to sear these scallops.

I did two skillets cause there were so many scallops that I didn’t want to over crowd them and wanted them all cooked at the same time
DSC_0173-1

we cooked each side of the scallop for 3-5 minutes, Peaked a few times to make sure the coloring was perfect

then flipped them and seared them on the other side
DSC_0174-1

DSC_0175-1

Just cooked them until they were more of a white all the way through
DSC_0176-1

I left Normy in charge of the searing while I took the pictures!
DSC_0179-1

DSC_0184-1

This is just the best thing ever to me…

DSC_0190-1

So I want to say they cooked for a total of 10-12 minutes

And they are done
DSC_0191-1

DSC_0192-1

we each got 7 scallops and to me that is better than a dozen roses! HA!
DSC_0195-1

DSC_0199-1

They just melted in your mouth!
DSC_0201-1

DSC_0206-1

and there you have it: scallops al la Jamie and Normy!

The BEST scallops I have ever cooked so far!!

Leave a Reply

