Holy Yum Chicken

When making this I used chicken breasts and I should have used chicken thighs like the recipe calls for! But I was trying to be healthier and use white meat! But damn it I like dark meat better! So take it from me use chicken thighs! I wasn’t too sure about this dish when I made it…dijon mustard with maple syrup and rice vinegar and rosemary…I was undecided if I like this or not! So I am going to remake it and use chicken thighs and I didn’t have REAL maple syrup! So I can’t say that I didn’t like it or I liked it…

Recipe

1 1/2 – 2 pounds boneless, skinless, chicken thighs (most of the fat cut and discarded) (I used chicken breasts)
1/2 cup Dijon mustard (must be Dijon mustard, no substitutes) (I used grain Dijon too)
1/4 cup pure maple syrup (again, no substitutes. No fake Aunt Jemima stuff)
1 tbsp. rice wine vinegar
1/4 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. ground black pepper
1 tbsp. cornstarch
2 tsp. fresh rosemary for garnish
DSC_0181-1

1.Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Line a 8×8″ oven-proof pan with 2 layers of tin foil.

2.In small bowl, whisk together Dijon mustard,
DSC_0185-1

DSC_0186-1

maple syrup,
DSC_0187-1

rice wine vinegar,
DSC_0189-1

salt
DSC_0190-1

and pepper. (I added in some Grainy mustard as well because I like grainy mustard)
DSC_0191-1

DSC_0193-1

DSC_0195-1

3.Place the chicken thighs (remember I used breasts) in the foil layered pan
DSC_0184-1

then pour the mixture on top of it.
DSC_0196-1

DSC_0197-1

DSC_0198-1

Turn the chicken around in the sauce to make sure it gets all coated.

4.Bake, uncovered, for 40 minutes.

5.Remove from oven and let chicken sit for 5 minutes then transfer to a plate. Do NOT discard the liquid.

6.Immediately after plating chicken, whisk in the 1 tbsp. of cornstarch into the liquid in the pan. You’ll create a nice, thick sauce to drizzle over your chicken. You need to do cornstarch mixing immediately because the liquid needs to be hot in order for it to thicken properly. If it’s still not thickening after 1 tbsp., you can add a little more.

7.Sprinkle rosemary on top before serving.
DSC_0234-1

8.Serve with rice or potatoes or vegetables.
DSC_0236-1

DSC_0243-1

DSC_0245-1

Leave a Reply

