Yogurt Marinated Chicken

Adapted from this Recipe

12 boneless, skinless chicken thighs
1/2 cup olive oil
1/4 heaping cup of plain Greek yogurt
3 Tablespoons fresh squeezed lemon juice
1/4 cup flat leaf parsley, chopped
2 teaspoon dried oregano
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon fresh ground black pepper
DSC_0120-1

I placed the chicken thighs in a baking dish, and set a side. Then I grabbed a small bowl and mixed together the olive oil
DSC_0123-1

Greek Yogurt
DSC_0124-1

DSC_0125-1

Lemon Juice
DSC_0127-1

Parsley
DSC_0130-1

dried oregano
DSC_0131-1

cumin
DSC_0135-1

Salt
DSC_0136-1

and pepper into a bowl
DSC_0137-1

and mixed together, and then poured it over the chicken thighs.
DSC_0139-1

DSC_0140-1

DSC_0142-1

Once I poured the marinade over the chicken I flipped each piece and made sure each thigh was coated well with the marinade, then placed in the fridge.

In the recipe I got this from it states that you should marinade the meat in the fridge for 2 hours, but I didn’t have 2 hours this time around, so I marinated it for 30 minutes…This is the 2nd time I have made this dish, so I DO recommend marinating it for the 2 hours. As the 1st time I marinated it for 4 hours and it tasted better to me, than when I marinated it for the 30 minutes. Thinking even marinating it overnight would make it even BETTER!

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

Grab a baking sheet and line it with foil and set aside

Heat a skillet or dutch oven over medium high heat and I coated the bottom of my pan with some olive oil, to help the chicken from sticking.

Shaking off excess marinade, place half of the chicken thighs into the pan and brown for 2-3 minutes on each side.
DSC_0170-1

Once the chicken has cooked 2-3 minutes each side, then remove it to the foil lined baking sheet
DSC_0171-1

DSC_0172-1

then continue cooking the rest of the chicken thighs. Once all the chicken thighs are cooked
DSC_0184-1

DSC_0188-1
finish baking them in the oven until the internal temperature reaches 170 degrees. I cooked mine for about 20 minutes.

Let the thighs rest for a few minutes, then serve.

DSC_0193-1

2 thoughts on “Yogurt Marinated Chicken

Leave a Reply

