Napa Cabbage Salad with Red Bell Pepper, Cilantro, Peanuts, and Dijon-Ginger Dressing

Addapted the recipe from here

1 smallish head of Napa cabbage, chopped
2 red bell peppers, thinly sliced into long strips
1 bunch chopped green onion
1/2 cup chopped cilantro

For the Dressing:
2 Tbsp rice vinegar
2 tsp. I used the pickled ginger, chopped (like what they use at sushi restaurants)
2 tsp. Dijon mustard
1 tsp. sesame oil
1 Tbsp agave nectar (I ran out, so I used 1 tbsp of agave nectar and 1 tbsp of honey)
salt and fresh-ground black pepper to taste
3 Tbsp vegetable oil
1/3 cup dry-roasted peanuts (I added only to my portion, as the hubby doesn’t like peanuts in his food)
DSC_0201-1

for the dressing throw everything into a bowl – starting with the rice vinegar,
DSC_0204-1

pickled ginger
DSC_0207-1

Dijon mustard,
DSC_0208-1

DSC_0209-1

sesame oil,
DSC_0210-1

agave nectar and honey
DSC_0211-1

DSC_0212-1

salt, and pepper,
DSC_0214-1

then what I did was grabbed my handy-dandy hand blender and turned it on and then poured the oil in and made sure everything was mixed together really well, made the dressing nice and thick and creamy. Set the dressing aside until ready to use
DSC_0218-1

Chop Napa cabbage and place into a large bowl.
DSC_0202-1

Cut red bell pepper, into thin slices, removed seeds and top and slice into long, thin slices (the original recipe called for one bell pepper, but because I LOVE them so much, I used two).
DSC_0219-1

chopped green onions,
DSC_0220-1

DSC_0223-1

chopped cilantro,
DSC_0224-1

Toss together the chopped Napa cabbage, red bell pepper strips, chopped green onions, and chopped cilantro in a large bowl.
DSC_0229-1

What I did was added the salad to individual bowls and poured the desired amount of dressing over the salad and then added the peanuts.
DSC_0268-1

DSC_0270-1

I have made this salad before and I poured all the dressing over it and it did not keep well for the next day! So I recommend only adding dressing to what you eat and then if you have leftovers and you want some the next day, store the salad and dressing separate and then just add dressing to salad the next day.

Leave a Reply

