Enchilada Quesadillas

I got the inspiration for this recipe from here

I also used this recipe to season the chicken breasts with

3 skinless chicken breasts
1 1/2 tsp. cumin
1 1/2 tsp. chili powder
1/2 tsp. garlic powder
1/2 tsp. black pepper
1/4 tsp. kosher salt
1/4 tsp. oregano
1/4 tsp. smoked paprika
DSC_0415-1

Start by preheating your oven to 350 degrees

Then place the cumin, chili powder, garlic powder, black pepper, salt, oregano and paprika in a bowl
DSC_0419-1

and mix it all together
DSC_0420-1

season both sides of the chicken breasts, very generously with the seasoning and place in a baking pan
DSC_0423-1

DSC_0424-1

bake in oven for about 35-45 minutes or until the chicken breast reach the internal temp of 165 degrees, then pull the chicken out of the oven and let it rest for about 10 minutes and let it cool a little as well.

after you have let it sit for a few, then chop the chicken up into small pieces, set aside
DSC_0436-1

for the dang quesa-dilluh! (Like how it’s said in the movie Napoleon Dynamite)

Flour Tortillas
2 tbsp Olive Oil
1 whole Red Onion, Thinly Sliced
¼ teaspoons Salt To Taste
⅛ teaspoons Black Pepper To Taste
1 whole Yellow Bell Pepper, chopped into small chunks
1 whole Red Bell Pepper, chopped into small chunks
1 small can of Enchilada Sauce
(the refried beans were for normy and his quesa-dilluh)
1 avocado, chopped into small pieces
1 tomato, chopped into small pieces
1/2 cup Black Olives, Chopped
1/2 cup Green olives, chopped (I don’t feel these actually went, but adding them here because they are in the pictures)
1 cup Shredded Monterey Jack Cheese
¼ cups Fresh Cilantro, Chopped
jalapenos
DSC_0429-1

DSC_0437-1

Start by heating the enchilada sauce in a small sauce pan to low heat, and while that warms up cook the onions and peppers. You can do the beans at this point too.

In a cast iron skillet, heat the olive oil over medium heat. Add the sliced onions and season with salt and pepper to taste,
DSC_0431-1

cook the onions over medium high heat stirring every few minutes until the onions are translucent and browned on the edges a little, 10-12 minutes. When the onions are done cooking pull them out and set aside and use the same pan to cook the diced peppers in. I like my peppers still crunchy so I only cooked them for about 5 minutes. Then I added the onions back to the skillet and turn heat off. (I cooked the onions by themselves because I don’t know why? You can skip that step and just cook the onions 1st, then throw the peppers in).
DSC_0435-1

At this point, I have a panini press and I plugged it in and got it warmed up while I made my quesadilla

spread 1-2 tablespoons of enchilada sauce over each of the tortillas.
DSC_0446-1

then add the onions and bell peppers to half of the tortilla
DSC_0448-1

Then add the chopped chicken
DSC_0449-1

I didn’t measure, I just added what looked good to me

Then add the cheese
DSC_0450-1

and then the olives
DSC_0451-1

Then fold the other part of the tortilla over the part with all the yummies and place on Panini press, or you could bake it, or place it in a skillet and place another pan over it to help hold it together.
DSC_0452-1

I closed the Panini press and just cooked it till the cheese was melted and there are nice panini press (grill looking) marks on the tortilla. How I could tell the cheese was melted is I heard it melting on the press and heard it sizzling.

DSC_0456-1

Remove Quesadilla from Panini press and place on a plate and let it cool for a couple of minutes
DSC_0458-1

DSC_0460-1

Then use a pizza cutter and cut into slices, big or small, whatever your heart desires
DSC_0462-1

I garnished mine with pickled jalapeno
DSC_0464-1

I did chop up cilantro, tomatoes and avocado to top mine with as well, I also had a little bowl of the extra enchilada sauce on the side to dip my quesadilla in as well.

You could add salsa and sour cream too. I skipped the sour cream, trying to eat healthy.

Leave a Reply

