Blackened Cajun Catfish

I wanted to try something different when I made this recipe…(seems I am always saying that). When Normy and I get fish we either get salmon or tilapia or shrimp, so I wanted something different this time so we went with catfish…

and what goes good with catfish? Cajun seasoning (of course)!

So I used 4 catfish filets just what they had at the seafood counter and my local King Soopers.

and Cajun Seasoning
DSC_0229-1

I rinsed the catfish and then dabbed it dry with paper towels and then placed it on a plate
DSC_0233-1

Then I got a baking pan big enough to fit all the catfish in to season it.

Season very generously with the Cajun Blackening seasoning, I pressed down with my hand to help the seasoning stick to the fish
DSC_0235-1

again I didn’t measure how much I sprinkled on each piece I just loaded it on
DSC_0237-1

Do this with both sides so the fish is covered in Cajun seasoning LOVE!
DSC_0238-1

DSC_0240-1

Oh hey, LOOK its my favorite Creole/Cajun Seasoning, gotta add some of that too
DSC_0241-1

so I did all 4 pieces of fish with the Cajun Blackening seasoning and then I sprinkled the tops of the fish with the Creole/Cajun seasoning
DSC_0242-1

DSC_0244-1

then I sprinkled some lemon pepper seasoning on too.
DSC_0248-1

Just go with it

So I added all 3 of these seasoning to my catfish
DSC_0250-1

DSC_0251-1

DSC_0253-1

DSC_0256-1

DSC_0259-1

My fish is ready to coooook!
DSC_0262-1

OK so now get you a big ol cast iron skillet or a big skillet to blacken your catfish in, heat it to high heat, add a little oil, enough to coat the pan. I also preheated my oven to 250 degrees because I could only cook 2 catfish at a time, so while 2 were cooking and 2 were done, they could stay warm in the oven…
DSC_0285-1

get that pan nice and smoking hot. I let mine heat up till it was literally smoking and then I placed my fish in there and let it sizzle away
DSC_0286-1

cook one side for about 5 minutes and then flip (side note, while my fish was cooking the pan got a little dry, as I didn’t add enough oil, so I added a little butter when I flipped the fish)

DSC_0288-1

cook the other side for another 5 minutes
DSC_0291-1

DSC_0292-1

DSC_0294-1

and then remove from pan, do the same thing with the other 2 pieces of fish too, and while you are cooking the other two, keep the two you just cooked warm by placing them in the oven on a baking sheet lined with foil. On the other 2 cooking in the pan add more butter if needed. Then pull the 2 in the oven that were staying warm and place the 2 pieces you just cooked on the pan as well and serve up nice and hot…

DSC_0295-1

DSC_0297-1

DSC_0298-1

DSC_0304-1

at this point you could squeeze the juice of half a lemon over the top of the fish mmmmm

serve with some veggies on the side as well
DSC_0308-1

and get a thumbs up from your hubby
DSC_0309-1

DSC_0311-1

One thought on “Blackened Cajun Catfish

Leave a Reply

