Vegetable Medley

Sooooo I have had a lot of requests for a printable version of my recipes and I am in the process of trying to figure that out! So I apologize to all of you who have tried to print my recipes and used about 100 sheets of paper….What I do when I find a recipe and it doesn’t have a printable version is I copy and paste the recipe in a word document delete what I don’t need and then print what I do need. If that helps any…again I apologize for not having a printable version of my recipes but I am working on it!! So on that note….a recipe for you….

Had some veggies in my fridge and needed to use them before they went bad and so I made this dish up. I will call it vegetable medley…

You will need:
olive oil
butter
salt & Pepper, to taste
Lemon Pepper seasoning, to taste
Cajun/Creole seasoning, to taste
Mushrooms, I used white, but you could use any kind you like (I think the package I have is about a pound)
Better than bouillon – beef flavor (optional)
2 yellow squash
2 zucchini
garlic
red onion

DSC_0264-1

I just made this up as I went along so my recipe is all over the place (sorry)

Start by washing your mushrooms. I always use a wet paper towel to wipe the dirt off, and lay them on a dry paper towel until I chop them

DSC_0265-1

Once all the mushrooms are clean, slice them nice and thin and place them in a bowl and set aside
DSC_0266-1

Then wash your zucchini and squash and slice them, I did thicker slices
DSC_0267-1

then cut the slices in half, (like half moons) or leave them whole. Whatever floats your boat.

then cut and peel the onion and cut in half and then cut the onion into thin slices and then cut those in half

Then mince the garlic
DSC_0268-1

Then grab a Dutch oven, or large pan

and place on a burner and turn to medium heat

and coat the bottom of the pan with olive oil
DSC_0272-1

and add in a couple of tbsp of butter
DSC_0273-1

let the butter melt
DSC_0274-1

then add the mushrooms
DSC_0275-1

DSC_0276-1

season with salt and pepper to taste
DSC_0277-1

cook for about 10 minutes stirring occasionally

then I grabbed some better than bouillon – beef flavor because I LOVE this stuff and it adds SO much flavor!
DSC_0278-1

I added in about a tbsp.
DSC_0279-1

stir that in and cook for another 2-3 minutes

Then add the onions
DSC_0280-1

stir the onions in and cook with the mushrooms
DSC_0281-1

cook the onions with the mushrooms for 5-7 minutes, until the onions are translucent

Then add in the garlic
DSC_0289-1

stir the garlic in and cook for 2 minutes

then add in the zucchini and squash and sprinkle them with lemon pepper and Cajun seasoning to taste
DSC_0293-1

and stir in with the mushrooms and onions and cook for about 8-10 minutes
DSC_0299-1

I can’t stand zucchini and squash soggy so I don’t like to cook it too long

serve it up nice and hot!
DSC_0310-1

 

Here is that recipe for you again:

You will need:
olive oil
2 tbsp. butter
salt & Pepper, to taste
Lemon Pepper seasoning, to taste
Cajun/Creole seasoning, to taste
Mushrooms, I used white, but you could use any kind you like (I think the package I used is about a pound)
Better than bouillon – beef flavor (optional)
2 yellow squash, chopped
2 zucchini, chopped
garlic, minced
red onion, sliced

washing your mushrooms, then slice them nice and thin and place them in a bowl and set aside
Then wash your zucchini and squash and slice them thick slices, then cut the slices in half, (like half-moons) or leave them whole.

Cut and peel the onion and cut in half and then cut the onion into thin slices and then cut those in half

Mince the garlic

Heat a Dutch oven, or large pan to medium heat

Coat the bottom of the pan with olive oil

Add in a couple of tbsp. of butter, let the butter melt, add the mushrooms, season with salt and pepper to taste

Cook for about 10 minutes stirring occasionally

Then add better than bouillon – beef flavor, about a tbsp. Stir that in and cook for another 2-3 minutes

Then add the onions, cook the onions with the mushrooms for 5-7 minutes, until the onions are translucent, stir occasionally

Then add in the garlic, stir the garlic in and cook for 2 minutes

Then add in the zucchini and squash and sprinkle them with lemon pepper and Cajun seasoning to taste
and stir in with the mushrooms and onions and cook for about 8-10 minutes

Serve it up nice and hot!

Leave a Reply

