Ranch pasta salad with spinach and bacon

So I got the idea for this pasta Salad from King Soopers…

Normy and I discovered it one evening while we were headed over to our friends Allan and Karen’s for a BBQ and I didn’t have time to make anything so we went to the deli area and discovered this salad…

So we all ate the salad and all came up with what we tasted and I made notes and this is what I came up with…

Fusilli Pasta, 1 pound or box
Spinach
Hidden valley ranch dressing mix
grape tomatoes
May-o – to taste
one pound bacon
DSC_0002-1

Start by getting a large pot of salted water boiling
DSC_0018-001

and follow the directions on the pasta box of how to cook the pasta
DSC_0025-1

DSC_0028-1

then I preheated my oven to 400 and grabbed a sheet pan and placed the bacon on the sheet pan in a single layer
DSC_0003-1

(I bake my bacon, less messy and I think it cooks faster, and you can cook more at once)
DSC_0004-1

DSC_0007-001

bake that for about 10 minutes,
DSC_0017-1

check it then I flip the bacon and turn the pan and cook for about 10-15 more minutes, depending on how crispy you like your bacon, depends on how long you cook it.

Then while the bacon was cooking, I followed the directions on the ranch packet, which call for 1 cup may-o
DSC_0009-1

DSC_0010-1

and then the ranch powder
DSC_0012-1

it also calls for 1 cup of milk on the package, but what I did was added enough to make the ranch and may-o not so thick, but not too runny (about 1/2 cup)
DSC_0014-1

DSC_0016-1

set the ranch sauce in the fridge until you need it

now wash the tomatoes
DSC_0020-1

and pat dry and set aside

Once you bacon is done
DSC_0022-1

remove it from the pan and place on a plate with layers of paper towels so the grease can drain. Once its cool enough for you to handle it, chop it up
DSC_0029-1

So then grab a big bowl and place the cooked pasta in, then cover the pasta with 1/2 the bag of spinach
DSC_0030-1

then add the chopped bacon
DSC_0031-1

then add the ranch sauce
DSC_0033-1

mix really well, then add the tomatoes and gently mix everything together without smooshing the tomatoes

DSC_0035-001

I chilled mine for about an hour, then serve it up
DSC_0037-1

DSC_0038-1

This salad is so yummy! You will love it! Its even better then next day!

Leave a Reply

