Homemade Olive Oil Mayo

So I have ALWAYS wanted to make homemade Mayo! So one day I decided I was going to do just that! Check it out:

I got the recipe from here (word of advise, before you make this recipe, watch her video, it totally helps)

1 egg (I doubled my recipe, so I used 2 eggs)
2 tbsp lemon juice – at room temp (again I doubled my recipe and used 4 tbsp)
DSC_0003-1

1/2 tsp dry mustard (I did 1 tsp, cause I doubled the recipe)
1/2 tsp salt (1 tsp, I doubled the recipe)
1/4 cup – X2 cause I doubled my recipe  plus 1 cup olive oil – (2 cups I doubled my recipe)

(light, not extra virgin) at room temp (this is VERY important – make sure you use LIGHT) (tip 4 – on her blog she says: “Do not use expensive, fancy extra-virgin olive oil; the olive flavor is overpowering. I use the grocery store brand “light tasting” olive oil. It barely tastes like olives which is not so good for green salads, but is awesome for mayo. (You might try Filippo Berio or Bertoli)” So I did as she says too.
DSC_0001-1

DSC_0004-1

Put the egg and
DSC_0006-1

lemon juice in a blender.
DSC_0007-1
Let them hangout and come to room temperature together, 30-60 minutes.

Add the dry mustard,
DSC_0009-1

salt,
DSC_0008-1

and 1/4 cup of the oil.
DSC_0010-1

blend until they are well mixed – 20 – 30 seconds.

IMPORTANT!

The last important step, probably the most important of them all is to add 1 cup oil to the mixture. You have to pour this in VERY sloooooooowly

Drizzle very slowly as slow as you possibly drizzle, a steady, skinny stream of oil.
DSC_0012-1

this takes a few minutes and your arm will get tired! Suck it up, you’re making homemade mayo! So worth it!

The liquid will start to form an emulsion and will become thicker, you will see how it will start to look like mayo, keep drizzling until all the oil is in the blender.
DSC_0014-1

DSC_0013-1

pour into a container or jar (I noticed when I poured mine in the jar it was a little runny, but after it chilled, it became thicker)
DSC_0017-1

DSC_0018-1

chill for about and hour or so and then use this awesome, yummy, homemade mayo!
DSC_0020-1

I used my mayo to make homemade mac salad

it calls for 1 cup mayo – here is a picture of Helman’s Mayo (what I usually use)
DSC_0405-1

here is a picture of the homemade mayo I made:
DSC_0022-1

looks so creamy and GOOD!

 

DSC_0176-1

DSC_0177-1

DSC_0184-1

I’ve made this salad before and I think it tasted better with the homemade mayo in it!
DSC_0186-1

I used all of my mayo, none went to waste!
DSC_0182-1

 

Recipe

  • 1 egg (I doubled my recipe, so I used 2 eggs)
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice – at room temp (again I doubled my recipe and used 4 tbsp)
  • 1/2 tsp dry mustard (I did 1 tsp, cause I doubled the recipe)
  • 1/2 tsp salt (1 tsp, I doubled the recipe)
  • 1/4 cup – X2 cause I doubled my recipe plus 1 cup olive oil – (2 cups I doubled my recipe)
  • (light, not extra virgin) at room temp (this is VERY important – make sure you use LIGHT) (tip 4 – on her blog she says: “Do not use expensive, fancy extra-virgin olive oil; the olive flavor is overpowering. I use the grocery store brand “light tasting” olive oil. It barely tastes like olives which is not so good for green salads, but is awesome for mayo. (You might try Filippo Berio or Bertoli)” So I did as she says too.
  • Put the egg and
  • lemon juice in a blender.
  • Let them hangout and come to room temperature together, 30-60 minutes.
  • Add the dry mustard, salt, and 1/4 cup of the oil.
  • blend until they are well mixed – 20 – 30 seconds.
  • IMPORTANT!
  • The last important step, probably the most important of them all is to add 1 cup oil to the mixture. You have to pour this in VERY sloooooooowly
  • Drizzle very slowly as slow as you possibly drizzle, a steady, skinny stream of oil.
  • this takes a few minutes and your arm will get tired! Suck it up, you’re making homemade mayo! So worth it!
  • The liquid will start to form an emulsion and will become thicker, you will see how it will start to look like mayo, keep drizzling until all the oil is in the blender.
  • pour into a container or jar (I noticed when I poured mine in the jar it was a little runny, but after it chilled, it became thicker)
  • chill for about and hour or so and then use this awesome, yummy, homemade mayo!
Leave a Reply

