Cajun Jambalaya

I have ALWAYS wanted to make Jambalaya!

So I emailed my Cajun/Louisianan friend Lori and asked for recommendations!

I wanted a mix of chicken, sausage and shrimp! So I went with one of Lori’s recommendations…Emerils recipe. I didn’t follow it 100% I kind of made it my own!

So since this was a yummy dish, and I had never made it before I invited our friends Allan & Karen to come over and try it with us. They were excited of course!
DSC_0101-1

1 pound medium shrimp, peeled, deveined and washed
DSC_0068-1
2 chicken breast, chopped
DSC_0067-1

Creole seasoning, to taste (I used SO much of this and I used 2 kinds, and I didn’t measure)
DSC_0115-1

olive oil
1 chopped onion
2 chopped green bell pepper
1/2 cup chopped celery
DSC_0069-1

2 tablespoons chopped garlic
6 chopped tomatoes
3 bay leaves
1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
hot sauce to taste
1 cup rice
3 cups chicken stock (I used better than bouillon)
3 links of Andouille sausage, sliced
Salt and pepper
DSC_0066-1

In a bowl combine shrimp, chicken, sausage
DSC_0071-1

and season with Creole seasoning, and work in seasoning well.
DSC_0076-1

In a large dutch oven heat oil over medium high heat
DSC_0073-1

DSC_0074-1

then add in the onion, pepper and celery,
DSC_0078-1

cook for 5 minutes. Then Add garlic, tomatoes, stir together, add a little creole seasoning
DSC_0079-1

DSC_0081-1

then add in the bay leaves,
DSC_0082-1

Worcestershire and hot sauces.
DSC_0083-1

slowly add broth.
DSC_0084-1

Then I seasoned with a little bit more of Creole/Cajun seasoning

Reduce heat to medium and cook about 15 minutes. Then add chicken and the sausage the mixture. (I had Normy help with this)
DSC_0085-1

DSC_0086-1

I waited to add the shrimp last as it doesn’t need to cook long. So set Shrimp aside for now.

Cook until meat is done, about 15 minutes more. Season to taste with salt, pepper and Creole seasoning.

Then add the shrimp last
DSC_0111-1

add a little more Cajun/Creole seasoning then, stir everything together and let shrimp cook 5-7 minutes
DSC_0116-1

when the shrimp are pink, they are done
DSC_0117-1

DSC_0118-1

I know with jambalaya it calls for you to add rice to the pot, but I did my rice separate and then add the jambalaya over the top
DSC_0121-1

Karen is up first to serve herself
DSC_0129-1

Now Allan! He was REALLY excited!
DSC_0134-1

Now Normy
DSC_0139-1

Don’t forget the cook! ME!
DSC_0147-1

DSC_0148-1

Let’s EAT!
DSC_0149-1

Holy Crap it was SO GOOD!
DSC_0150-1

DSC_0151-1

 

Recipe

  • 1 pound medium shrimp, peeled, deveined and washed
  • 2 chicken breast, chopped
  • Creole seasoning, to taste (I used SO much of this and I used 2 kinds, and I didn’t measure)
  • olive oil
  • 1 chopped onion
  • 2 chopped green bell pepper
  • 1/2 cup chopped celery
  • 2 tablespoons chopped garlic
  • 6 chopped tomatoes
  • 3 bay leaves
  • 1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
  • hot sauce to taste
  • 1 cup rice
  • 3 cups chicken stock (I used better than bouillon)
  • 3 links of Andouille sausage, sliced
  • Salt and pepper
  • In a bowl combine shrimp, chicken, sausage and season with Creole seasoning, and work in seasoning well.
  • In a large dutch oven heat oil over medium high heat then add in the onion, pepper and celery,
  • cook for 5 minutes. Then Add garlic, tomatoes, stir together, add a little creole seasoning then add in the bay leaves, Worcestershire and hot sauces.
  • slowly add broth.
  • Then I seasoned with a little bit more of Creole/Cajun seasoning
  • Reduce heat to medium and cook about 15 minutes. Then add chicken and the sausage the mixture.
  • I waited to add the shrimp last as it doesn’t need to cook long. So set Shrimp aside for now.
  • Cook until meat is done, about 15 minutes more. Season to taste with salt, pepper and Creole seasoning.
  • Then add the shrimp last
  • add a little more Cajun/Creole seasoning then, stir everything together and let shrimp cook 5-7 minutes
  • when the shrimp are pink, they are done
  • I know with jambalaya it calls for you to add rice to the pot, but I did my rice separate and then add the jambalaya over the top
Leave a Reply

