Mom’s Cracker Meal Fried Tomatoes with everything but the kitchen sink sauce

Got this recipe from my mom. Her mom made these tomatoes for her when she was a kid and she made them for me. I love them so much! So NOT good for you, but taste so GOOD! They are like fried green tomatoes, but you use beefsteak tomatoes instead.

So here are my mom’s
DSC_0375-1

DSC_0380-1

DSC_0386-1

and here are mine…

so you will need:
DSC_0275-1

Freshly ground black pepper, to taste
Kosher salt, to taste
Cracker Meal (My mom gave me this box, but she said that she can only find it at Wal Mart)
1 large beefsteak tomato, make sure its not too ripe
3 eggs
Creole/Cajun Seasoning (My mom doesn’t add this, but I am because I think it would make a nice addition to the recipe)
(Not in the picture) Veggie oil, for frying

Start by washing the tomato (I ended up using two tomatoes because I love these)
DSC_0277-1

and slice the tomato a little thick because you don’t want them too thin then they will end up mushy after cooking
DSC_0278-1

crack the 3 eggs in a medium bowl
DSC_0279-1

so since I did 2 tomatoes, I decided to add another egg, so crack 4 eggs into a bowl
DSC_0280-1

whisk the eggs well
DSC_0281-1

In another medium bowl pour 1/2 the box of cracker meal
DSC_0282-1

Then season the cracker meal with the Creole/Cajun seasoning, to taste. I was very generous with the Creole/Cajun seasoning
DSC_0284-1

season both sides of the tomato slices with salt and Pepper, to taste
DSC_0285-1

DSC_0287-1

place the tomato slices in the egg, one at a time
DSC_0289-1

you can use your fingers or a fork and drain the excess eggs off the tomato
DSC_0290-1

Then place the tomato in the cracker meal
DSC_0291-1

coat one side of the tomato with the crack meal and then flip tomato over and coat the other side with the cracker meal
DSC_0292-1

DSC_0323-1

DSC_0326-1

place the breaded tomatoes on a plate in a single layer and set aside until you are ready to cook

grab a large cast iron skillet, or large skillet and coat the bottom of the pan with 1/2 an inch of oil and heat pan and heat to medium high heat
DSC_0298-1

finish dredging the tomatoes in the eggs and cracker meal, while the pan of oil gets nice and hot
DSC_0303-1

test the oil by sprinkling in a little cracker meal in the oil and if it sizzles then its nice and hot and go ahead and add the tomatoes. I added about 4 at a time don’t over crowd the pan.

Then I sprinkled a little more Creole/Cajun seasoning over the tomato slices
DSC_0305-1

DSC_0306-1

That is love, right there
DSC_0308-1

cook the tomatoes for about 7-10 minutes
DSC_0311-1

DSC_0316-2

then flip them, they should look nice and brown
DSC_0318-1

DSC_0321-1

cook the other side for another 7-10 minutes or until they are nice and brown

Then crab a plate lined with a couple layers of paper towels and lay the cooked tomatoes on the paper towels to drain the excess grease
DSC_0330-1

Then serve the tomatoes nice and hot
DSC_0345-1

I also made a sauce to go over them. I just made it up! I will call it everything but the kitchen sink sauce, because there is a lot of ingredients that go into this sauce
DSC_0350-1

So here is what I put in my sauce:
May-o (I love Hellmans but use whatever you like)
Sour cream
Grainy Dijon mustard (I love this stuff)
Horseradish (add a nice kick)
Cayenne Pepper
Worcestershire sauce
Smoked Paprika
Creole Seasoning (Of course)
BBQ Rub (I got mine from Wabash in Kansas City, But you could use another kind, or make your own)
Freshly ground black pepper
Kosher salt
DSC_0232-1

I measured for you, so you know exactly how to make this since I made it up as I went along (those are the best kind of recipes).

So add all the follow ingredients to a medium sized bowl
Add 1 cup of May-o
DSC_0233-1

1/3 cup of sour cream
DSC_0235-1

DSC_0237-1

1/4 cup Grainy Dijon mustard
DSC_0239-1

DSC_0241-1

heaping Tablespoon of Horseradish
DSC_0242-1

DSC_0245-1

DSC_0246-1

I didn’t have this in the picture with all the other ingredients but I added it, cocktail sauce, I know weird, but hey its spicy and tastes good.
DSC_0248-1

1 tablespoon
DSC_0247-1

DSC_0249-1

1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
DSC_0251-1

DSC_0252-1

1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
DSC_0254-1

another ingredient I added was, Louisiana hot sauce (love this stuff)
DSC_0256-1

DSC_0255-1

1 teaspoon of smoked paprika
DSC_0257-1

DSC_0258-1

DSC_0259-1

1 teaspoon of love, oh wait, I mean Creole Seasoning
DSC_0262-1

DSC_0260-1

DSC_0261-1

then a teaspoon of the BBQ Rub
DSC_0266-1

DSC_0265-1

another ingredient I added in last minute, Garlic salt (I add this to everything)
1 teaspoon
DSC_0268-1

DSC_0269-1

OK there is everything added to the bowl
DSC_0270-1

now whisk it all together, really well
DSC_0271-1

Mine was little runny so I added in 1/2 a cup more of may-o to help thicken it up some
DSC_0272-1

Mix the may-o in really well

and there you go, a Jamie concoction sauce
DSC_0273-1

DSC_0274-1

 

Recipe

  • Freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • Kosher salt, to taste
  • Cracker Meal (My mom gave me this box, but she said that she can only find it at Wal Mart)
  • 1 large beefsteak tomato, make sure its not too ripe
  • 3 eggs
  • Creole/Cajun Seasoning (My mom doesn’t add this, but I am because I think it would make a nice addition to the recipe)
  • Veggie oil, for frying
  • Start by washing the tomato (I ended up using two tomatoes because I love these)
  • and slice the tomato a little thick because you don’t want them too thin then they will end up mushy after cooking
  • crack the 3 eggs in a medium bowl
  • so since I did 2 tomatoes, I decided to add another egg, so crack 4 eggs into a bowl
  • whisk the eggs well
  • In another medium bowl pour 1/2 the box of cracker meal
  • Then season the cracker meal with the Creole/Cajun seasoning, to taste. I was very generous with the Creole/Cajun seasoning
  • season both sides of the tomato slices with salt and Pepper, to taste
  • place the tomato slices in the egg, one at a time
  • you can use your fingers or a fork and drain the excess eggs off the tomato
  • Then place the tomato in the cracker meal
  • coat one side of the tomato with the crack meal and then flip tomato over and coat the other side with the cracker meal
  • place the breaded tomatoes on a plate in a single layer and set aside until you are ready to cook
  • grab a large cast iron skillet, or large skillet and coat the bottom of the pan with 1/2 an inch of oil and heat pan and heat to medium high heat
  • finish dredging the tomatoes in the eggs and cracker meal, while the pan of oil gets nice and hot
  • test the oil by sprinkling in a little cracker meal in the oil and if it sizzles then its nice and hot and go ahead and add the tomatoes. I added about 4 at a time don’t over crowd the pan.
  • Then I sprinkled a little more Creole/Cajun seasoning over the tomato slices
  • cook the tomatoes for about 7-10 minutes
  • then flip them, they should look nice and brown
  • cook the other side for another 7-10 minutes or until they are nice and brown
  • Then crab a plate lined with a couple layers of paper towels and lay the cooked tomatoes on the paper towels to drain the excess grease
  • Then serve the tomatoes nice and hot
  • I will call it everything but the kitchen sink sauce, because there is a lot of ingredients that go into this sauce
  • So here is what I put in my sauce:
  • May-o
  • Sour cream
  • Grainy Dijon mustard
  • Horseradish
  • Cayenne Pepper
  • Worcestershire sauce
  • Smoked Paprika
  • Creole Seasoning
  • BBQ Rub
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • Kosher salt
  • So add all the follow ingredients to a medium sized bowl
  • Add 1 cup of May-o
  • 1/3 cup of sour cream
  • 1/4 cup Grainy Dijon mustard
  • heaping Tablespoon of Horseradish
  • cocktail sauce, I know weird, but hey its spicy and tastes good, 1 tablespoon
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • Louisiana hot sauce, 1 tablespoon
  • 1 teaspoon, smoked paprika
  • 1 teaspoon of love, oh wait, I mean Creole Seasoning
  • then a teaspoon of the BBQ Rub
  • Garlic salt, 1 teaspoon
  • now whisk it all together, really well
  • Mine was little runny so I added in 1/2 a cup more of may-o to help thicken it up some
  • Mix the may-o in really well
  • and there you go, a Jamie concoction sauce
Leave a Reply

