Dill Beer Can Chicken

Recipe

1 (16 oz) can of lager beer, half empty (I just had my hubby drink half to help me out, I don’t drink beer, yucky)
fresh dill, chopped, to taste (I like a LOT of dill)
4 cloves garlic, minced
5 – 5 1/2 pound whole chicken, rinsed and patted dry with paper towels
olive oil, to taste
kosher salt, to taste
freshly ground black pepper, to taste
DSC_0217-1

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Chop the dill sprigs (I did about 5-6) and mince the garlic cloves and place in a bowl, also add in the salt and pepper, to taste DSC_0219-1

add olive oil in (I added about 1/4 a cup) and mix everything together
DSC_0222-1

I have a nifty beer can chicken holder thingy. So place the beer can inside the cavity of the chicken. (Or as I like to say, because I always have to be inappropriate…put the can up the chickens butt) Place the chicken upright on foil lined baking sheet (at first I didn’t line the sheet pan with foil, then later on I decided too, so I will save you the trouble and tell you to do it right away, makes for easy clean up)
DSC_0221-1

Rub the olive oil mixture all over the chicken.

DSC_0224-1

DSC_0225-1

DSC_0228-1

DSC_0230-1

Place chicken in oven. I had to remove one of the racks in my oven because I had to move the rack I was cooking the chicken on to the very bottom, because the chicken stands tall and I didn’t want it to be too close to the broil element in the top of the oven. I cooked my chicken for about an hour and a half at 350 degrees.

DSC_0231-1

After an hour, I checked the chicken. If the temperature in the thigh registers 165 degrees, remove from the oven. If its not done, then cook for another 30 minutes or so and check temp again.

DSC_0240-1

DSC_0241-1

I let my chicken rest for about 10 minutes, then just carved it as is on the beer can

DSC_0244-1

Delicious and Nutritious!

Recipe

  • 1 (16 oz) can of lager beer, half empty (I just had my hubby drink half to help me out, I don’t drink beer, yucky)
  • fresh dill, chopped, to taste (I like a LOT of dill)
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 5 – 5 1/2 pound whole chicken, rinsed and patted dry with paper towels
  • olive oil, to taste
  • kosher salt, to taste
  • freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees Chop the dill sprigs (I did about 5-6) and mince the garlic cloves and place in a bowl, also add in the salt and pepper, to taste
  • add olive oil in (I added about 1/4 a cup) and mix everything together
  • I have a nifty beer can chicken holder thingy. So place the beer can inside the cavity of the chicken. (Or as I like to say, because I always have to be inappropriate…put the can up the chickens butt) Place the chicken upright on foil lined baking sheet (at first I didn’t line the sheet pan with foil, then later on I decided too, so I will save you the trouble and tell you to do it right away, makes for easy clean up)
  • Rub the olive oil mixture all over the chicken.
  • Place chicken in oven. I had to remove one of the racks in my oven because I had to move the rack I was cooking the chicken on to the very bottom, because the chicken stands tall and I didn’t want it to be too close to the broil element in the top of the oven. I cooked my chicken for about an hour and a half at 350 degrees.
  • After an hour, I checked the chicken. If the temperature in the thigh registers 165 degrees, remove from the oven. If its not done, then cook for another 30 minutes or so and check temp again.
  • I let my chicken rest for about 10 minutes, then just carved it as is on the beer can
Leave a Reply

