Nachos

I got the idea for this recipe from my friend Karen! We had nachos at her house one night for dinner and they were SO yummy! So you know when I love something somebody makes, I gotta make it myself so this is my version of Karen nachos:

Start by preheating your oven to 350 degrees

So I used this recipe for the meat for my nachos:

just in case you don’t feel like going to the link here’s the recipe:
1 tablespoon chili powder
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1/4 teaspoon onion powder
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
1/2 teaspoon paprika
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
1 teaspoon sea salt
1 teaspoon black pepper
DSC_0283-1

so here’s all the other ingredients I used for my nachos:
DSC_0289-1

So what I used for my nachos in the picture above is:
Sour cream
chipotle peppers in adobo sauce – I mixed the sauce from the peppers with the sour cream to make a spicy sour cream to
1 yellow onion, chopped
Corn Chips
Jalapenos
1 can black beans
1 small can black olives
Tapatio, or your favorite hot sauce
Taco Seasoning
Freshly grated extra sharp cheddar cheese, About 2 cups
1 avocado, chopped up
1 pound ground beef
Green chilies, chopped
tomatoes, chopped
Juice from a Lime or limes

So chop up a yellow onion, set aside (I used 1/2 of the onion for the meat and 1/2 to top the nachos with)
DSC_0290-1

Then grab your ground beef, I used about a pound and threw it in a large cast iron skillet, heated to medium high heat
DSC_0292-1

DSC_0294-1

brown the meat and break it up into small chunks
DSC_0295-1

DSC_0298-1

Then add the chopped up onions

DSC_0300-1

stir the onions into the beef
DSC_0302-1

Then add in the taco seasoning
DSC_0303-1

DSC_0304-1

DSC_0305-1

stir the seasoning into the meat really well, and turn the heat down to low.
DSC_0306-1

DSC_0307-1

Grab a sheet pan and line it with parchment paper and then I laid some corn chip in a single on the parchment paper
DSC_0308-1

Then sprinkle the cheese over the chips, I was VERY generous with the cheese. I mean it is nachos!
DSC_0309-1

then add the cooked beef
DSC_0311-1

then add some black beans
DSC_0314-1

DSC_0315-1

then add the green chilies
DSC_0316-1

place pan in the oven and bake 10-12 minutes or until cheese is melted and everything is warmed and all melty and yummy

then serve desired amount of nachos on a plate and then top the nachos with chopped tomatoes, avocado, onion and jalapeno (I forgot them on mine) and I also added some of the spicy sour cream I made. Also squeezed the juice of one lime over everything.
DSC_0318-1

DSC_0320-1

DSC_0323-1

Recipe

  • taco seasoning:
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper
  • so here’s all the other ingredients I used for my nachos:
  • for the nachos:
  • Sour cream
  • chipotle peppers in adobo sauce – I mixed the sauce from the peppers with the sour cream to make a spicy sour cream to
  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • Corn Chips
  • Jalapenos
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 small can black olives
  • Tapatio, or your favorite hot sauce
  • Taco Seasoning
  • Freshly grated extra sharp cheddar cheese, About 2 cups
  • 1 avocado, chopped up
  • 1 pound ground beef
  • Green chilies, chopped
  • tomatoes, chopped
  • Juice from a Lime or limes
  • Start by preheating your oven to 350 degrees
  • So I used this recipe for the meat for my nachos:
  • So chop up a yellow onion, set aside (I used 1/2 of the onion for the meat and 1/2 to top the nachos with)
  • Then grab your ground beef, I used about a pound and threw it in a large cast iron skillet, heated to medium high heat
  • brown the meat and break it up into small chunks
  • Then add the chopped up onions, stir the onions into the beef
  • Then add in the taco seasoning
  • stir the seasoning into the meat really well, and turn the heat down to low.
  • Grab a sheet pan and line it with parchment paper and then I laid some corn chip in a single on the parchment paper
  • Then sprinkle the cheese over the chips, I was VERY generous with the cheese. I mean it is nachos!
  • then add the cooked beef
  • then add some black beans, then add the green chilies
  • place pan in the oven and bake 10-12 minutes or until cheese is melted and everything is warmed and all melty and yummy
  • then serve desired amount of nachos on a plate and then top the nachos with chopped tomatoes, avocado, onion and jalapeno (I forgot them on mine) and I also added some of the spicy sour cream I made. Also squeezed the juice of one lime over everything.
Leave a Reply

