Baked Potato Cheese Soup

I just came up with recipe on my own….had some red potatoes that I bought and needed to use them, so I thought how about baked potato cheese soup MMMMM

So the ingredients I used for my soup are:

Sour Cream (can’t have a baked potato without sour cream, I add a dollop or 5 on top of my soup)
Carrots because I always start (pretty much) all my soups with a Mirepoix -“a mixture of chopped celery, onions, and carrots”
Onion
Celery
about a 5 pound bag of red potatoes
freshly ground black pepper, to taste
salt, to taste
milk (we use lactose free as Normy is lactose intolerant)
Extra sharp cheddar cheese (about a pound), that you will grate later
garlic salt (to taste)

not in the picture, but you will need for this recipe:
olive oil
butter
better than bouillon, chicken
water
bacon
chopped green onion

I started by having Normy help me and he peeled all the potatoes
DSC_0348-1

while he did that I peeled some carrots
DSC_0349-1

peeled 5 carrots (to be exact)
DSC_0350-1

cut the ends off the carrots and then cut the ends off the celery and washed them and used 5 celery stalks as well
DSC_0353-1

DSC_0352-1

then I chopped the carrots and celery up into medium sized chunks (I will be pureeing the soup later with a hand blender, so I went with small to a medium sized chop).
DSC_0355-1

chopping away while Normy peels away all the skins on the potatoes
DSC_0356-1

I also chopped the onion as well
DSC_0357-1

Normy filled one size of the sink with cold water for the peeled potatoes to chill in while he peeled all the potatoes (that’s a lot of potatoes)
DSC_0358-1

so once all the potatoes were peeled, I chopped them all into chunks and then threw them in a large pot and filled it with water and then sat the pot on a burner to high heat to be boiled
DSC_0359-1

while the potatoes boiled, Normy grated the big chunk of cheese we bought. (I like freshly grated, not already grated cheese)
DSC_0361-1

boil the potatoes for 30-35 minutes.
DSC_0362-1
I checked mine to see if they were nice and soft by picking a bigger chunk of potato by poking it with a fork

drain potatoes and set aside

then grab a nice big, deep pot and set it on the already hot burner and heat the burner to medium high heat and coat the bottom with olive oil and about 2 tbsp of butter. Let the butter melt all the way
DSC_0363-1

add your Mirepoix – chopped Onion, Celery and carrots to pot
DSC_0365-1

season with salt and pepper, to taste
DSC_0367-1

saute for 5-7 minutes, or until your onions are translucent

then add the chunks of potatoes
DSC_0368-1

season the potatoes with freshly ground black pepper and garlic salt, to taste
DSC_0370-1

stir everything together
DSC_0371-1

at this point I took about 2 cups of the potatoes, onion, carrots, and celery and place it in a measuring cup and set it aside, will add this later after I blend the soup, to add chunks to the soup

then add in water (about 2-3 cups) or vegetable/chicken broth. I added water and then I added in better than bouillon (Read the back of the jar to see how much to add)

DSC_0372-1

then add milk (I added about 2-4 cups) I basically added half water, half milk until it went up to the potatoes so pretty much everything was submerged in liquid.
DSC_0373-1

DSC_0375-1

stir everything together, then let everything come up to almost a boil and then turn the heat down to medium low and then I grabbed my hand blender and blended everything together so it was nice and smooth
DSC_0376-1

so remember how I told you pull aside the chunks of potato, carrots, celery and onion?
DSC_0377-1

After you have blended your soup really well and its nice and smooth, then I added the chunks back in. I know strange to make it all smooth and blend it, just to add the chunks back in. Just thought it would be a nice little treat to be eating my soup and get a chunk of potato, or onion here and there. Stir everything together
DSC_0378-1

Then add in the grated cheese, I added all the cheese Normy grated and then I had more cheese that I grated to top my soup with when serving
DSC_0379-1

I wouldn’t add as much cheese as I did, I think it may have been too much cheese, unless you LOVE cheese then add it all.
DSC_0380-1

DSC_0381-1

Stir the cheese in and let it melt into the soup. Then taste the soup for taste. Add a little more salt, pepper, garlic salt if needed.

Then serve up in a bowl.

I added extra grated cheese I had to my soup
DSC_0384-1

Oh and don’t forget the MOST important topping to the soup, BACON!
DSC_0385-1

I also added chopped green onion
DSC_0394-1

Normy also likes Tabasco on his
DSC_0397-1

and sour cream
DSC_0387-1

DSC_0398-1

DSC_0401-1

DSC_0403-1

Cheeeeeesy
DSC_0407-1

DSC_0408-1

 

Recipe

  • Sour Cream (can’t have a baked potato without sour cream, I add a dollop or 5 on top of my soup)
  • Carrots because I always start (pretty much) all my soups with a Mirepoix -“a mixture of chopped celery, onions, and carrots”
  • Onion
  • Celery
  • about a 5 pound bag of red potatoes
  • freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • salt, to taste
  • milk (we use lactose free as Normy is lactose intolerant)
  • Extra sharp cheddar cheese (about a pound), that you will grate later
  • garlic salt (to taste)
  • you will need for this recipe:
  • olive oil
  • butter
  • better than bouillon, chicken
  • water
  • bacon
  • chopped green onion
  • I started by having Normy help me and he peeled all the potatoes
  • while he did that I peeled some carrots
  • peeled 5 carrots (to be exact)
  • cut the ends off the carrots and then cut the ends off the celery and washed them and used 5 celery stalks as well
  • then I chopped the carrots and celery up into medium sized chunks (I will be pureeing the soup later with a hand blender, so I went with small to a medium sized chop).
  • chopping away while Normy peels away all the skins on the potatoes
  • I also chopped the onion as well
  • Normy filled one size of the sink with cold water for the peeled potatoes to chill in while he peeled all the potatoes (that’s a lot of potatoes)
  • so once all the potatoes were peeled, I chopped them all into chunks and then threw them in a large pot and filled it with water and then sat the pot on a burner to high heat to be boiled
  • while the potatoes boiled, Normy grated the big chunk of cheese we bought. (I like freshly grated, not already grated cheese)
  • boil the potatoes for 30-35 minutes.
  • I checked mine to see if they were nice and soft by picking a bigger chunk of potato by poking it with a fork
  • drain potatoes and set aside
  • then grab a nice big, deep pot and set it on the already hot burner and heat the burner to medium high heat and coat the bottom with olive oil and about 2 tbsp of butter. Let the butter melt all the way
  • add your Mirepoix – chopped Onion, Celery and carrots to pot
  • season with salt and pepper, to taste
  • saute for 5-7 minutes, or until your onions are translucent
  • then add the chunks of potatoes
  • season the potatoes with freshly ground black pepper and garlic salt, to taste
  • stir everything together
  • at this point I took about 2 cups of the potatoes, onion, carrots, and celery and place it in a measuring cup and set it aside, will add this later after I blend the soup, to add chunks to the soup
  • then add in water (about 2-3 cups) or vegetable/chicken broth. I added water and then I added in better than bouillon (Read the back of the jar to see how much to add)
  • then add milk (I added about 2-4 cups) I basically added half water, half milk until it went up to the potatoes so pretty much everything was submerged in liquid.
  • stir everything together, then let everything come up to almost a boil and then turn the heat down to medium low and then I grabbed my hand blender and blended everything together so it was nice and smooth
  • so remember how I told you pull aside the chunks of potato, carrots, celery and onion?
  • After you have blended your soup really well and its nice and smooth, then I added the chunks back in. I know strange to make it all smooth and blend it, just to add the chunks back in. Just thought it would be a nice little treat to be eating my soup and get a chunk of potato, or onion here and there. Stir everything together
  • Then add in the grated cheese, I added all the cheese Normy grated and then I had more cheese that I grated to top my soup with when serving
  • I wouldn’t add as much cheese as I did, I think it may have been too much cheese, unless you LOVE cheese then add it all.
  • Stir the cheese in and let it melt into the soup. Then taste the soup for taste. Add a little more salt, pepper, garlic salt if needed.
  • Then serve up in a bowl.
  • I added extra grated cheese I had to my soup
  • Oh and don’t forget the MOST important topping to the soup, BACON!
  • I also added chopped green onion
  • Normy also likes Tabasco on his
  • and sour cream
Leave a Reply

