Cajun Spiced Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

So I LOVE roasting pumpkin seeds but I always wanted the perfect way to do it. I’ve roasted them before and they haven’t turned out the way I wanted them too. So I tried something new this time. I boiled them…I used 2 recipes to make 1 my own

so I used this recipe and this recipe 

So I carved my pumpkin and rinsed my seeds and drained them
DSC_0043-1

and then I dried my seeds out on towels in a single layer for a couple nights,
DSC_0045-1

DSC_0047-1
to make sure they were completely dried out. I turned them over and moved them around to make sure they were completely dried out.

So I used seeds from one large pumpkin, so I had about 2 cups of seeds.

So I filled a saucepan with 2 cups of water, then turned the burner to high heat
DSC_0258-1

then added 2 cups of seeds
DSC_0260-1

DSC_0261-1

DSC_0262-1

DSC_0263-1

DSC_0264-1

and then 2 tablespoon of salt
DSC_0265-1

and brought the water to a boil,
DSC_0268-1

and I let them simmer for 10 minutes
DSC_0269-1

Removed them from the heat and drained them
DSC_0272-1

DSC_0273-1

then I turned my oven to 300 degrees

I placed the drained seeds into a medium bowl

and then I grabbed:
2 tablespoons of butter
Worcestershire sauce
Cajun Seasoning
Garlic salt
DSC_0274-1

I melted the butter in a small pan on the stove, You could do it in the microwave
DSC_0277-1

I did a few dashes of Worcestershire sauce over the seeds
DSC_0279-1

then I seasoned them with a little garlic salt, about a teaspoon
DSC_0280-1

DSC_0281-1

then I added in the melted butter
DSC_0282-1

stirred everything together
DSC_0283-1

then added the Cajun seasoning. I was VERY generous with this (as always) because I love it. Thinking I added about a Tablespoon (but probably more)
DSC_0284-1

DSC_0285-1

How I roast my pumpkin seeds mmmm

Then I stirred the seeds again and then grabbed a sheet pan and poured the seeds onto the sheetpan
DSC_0286-1

DSC_0288-1

DSC_0290-1

spread the seeds out over the sheet pan

DSC_0292-1

DSC_0293-1

Then popped them in the oven. I let mine bake for about 45 minutes at 300 degrees, flipping and turning the seeds a few times during baking.

Then took them out of the oven
DSC_0299-1

DSC_0300-1

DSC_0305-1

Seeds

and let them cool and then ate them!

Cajun Spiced Roasted Pumpkin Seeds
  • So I carved my pumpkin and rinsed my seeds and drained them
  • and then I dried my seeds out on towels in a single layer for a couple nights,
  • to make sure they were completely dried out. I turned them over and moved them around to make sure they were completely dried out.
  • So I used seeds from one large pumpkin, so I had about 2 cups of seeds.
  • So I filled a saucepan with 2 cups of water, then turned the burner to high heat
  • then added 2 cups of seeds
  • and then 2 tablespoon of salt
  • and brought the water to a boil,
  • and I let them simmer for 10 minutes
  • Removed them from the heat and drained them
  • then I turned my oven to 300 degrees
  • I placed the drained seeds into a medium bowl
  • and then I grabbed:
  • 2 tablespoons of butter
  • Worcestershire sauce
  • Cajun Seasoning
  • Garlic salt
  • I melted the butter in a small pan on the stove, You could do it in the microwave
  • I did a few dashes of Worcestershire sauce over the seeds
  • then I seasoned them with a little garlic salt, about a teaspoon
  • then I added in the melted butter
  • stirred everything together
  • then added the Cajun seasoning. I was VERY generous with this (as always) because I love it. Thinking I added about a Tablespoon (but probably more)
  • Then I stirred the seeds again and then grabbed a sheet pan and poured the seeds onto the sheet pan
  • spread the seeds out over the sheet pan
  • Then popped them in the oven. I let mine bake for about 45 minutes at 300 degrees, flipping and turning the seeds a few times during baking.
  • Then took them out of the oven
  • and let them cool and then ate them!
Leave a Reply

