Asian salmon with rice noodles and asparagus

I think this may be my new favorite salmon recipe, or one of them

Got the recipe from here

Start by preheating your oven to 350 degrees.

2 tbsp sesame oil
3 tbsp honey
4 tbsp soy sauce
4 tbsp rice vinegar
4 cloves of fresh garlic, minced
a pinch of ground ginger
1 and 1/2 pounds of salmon
8 oz very thin rice noodles
2 bunches fresh asparagus (you can do 1 bunch I did 2 as I LOVE asparagus)
salt & pepper, to taste
olive oil
DSC_0284-1

For the marinade, in a medium bowl, combine the sesame oil,
DSC_0286-1

honey,
DSC_0288-1
DSC_0289-1

soy sauce,
DSC_0293-1

rice vinegar,
DSC_0297-1

garlic,
DSC_0300-1

ginger
DSC_0302-1
and stir to blend.
DSC_0303-1

Place the salmon in a baking dish skin-side down.
DSC_0305-1

Then pour the marinade over the salmon,
DSC_0307-1

DSC_0308-1

DSC_0311-1

cover and refrigerate for 1 hour.

while salmon marinates, I made a 2nd batch of the sauce and brought it to a boil, then let it simmer, and then turned it down to low until I needed it.
DSC_0327-1

Then follow the instructions on the package for the rice noodles and cook them. I think mine cooked in like 5 minutes. It was so fast. Drain and set aside
DSC_0328-1

Then grab the asparagus
DSC_0316-1

wash and cut the ends off

I placed mine in a cast iron skillet, coated the bottom of the pan with a little olive oil and spread the asparagus out in the pan and drizzled a little olive oil over the top as well
DSC_0319-1

Seasoned them with salt and pepper, to taste
DSC_0323-1

Then I placed the asparagus in the oven and baked for about 20 minutes

while the asparagus was baking, I grabbed the salmon out of the fridge 10 minutes before I baked it to take the chill off . Then I threw the salmon (In the same pan I marinated it in) in the oven with the asparagus and baked for 10 minutes at 350 degree, then I switched pans and placed the salmon on a broil safe pan and threw it back in the oven and broiled it for a few minutes until it caramelized the way I wanted it. I removed the asparagus when the 20 minutes was up and set that aside and continued broiling the salmon until I got the color I liked. (Might have been more than a few minutes).

When I got the color I was looking for, I turned the oven off and removed the salmon and then grabbed a plate and placed some rice noodles on the plate, Then I cut the salmon in half and then I grabbed a spatula and slid it under the salmon and removed the skin and then I took the salmon and broke it up into bite size pieces and then placed the salmon pieces on top of the rice noodles
DSC_0331-1

Then I took the 2nd batch of sauce I made from the sauce pan and spooned a little over the top of the salmon pieces
DSC_0333-1

Then I placed several pieces of asparagus on the side
DSC_0337-1

DSC_0341-1

and you are ready to eat!
DSC_0345-1

DSC_0349-1

DSC_0350-1

 

So good!

Recipe

  • 2 tbsp sesame oil
  • 3 tbsp honey
  • 4 tbsp soy sauce
  • 4 tbsp rice vinegar
  • 4 cloves of fresh garlic, minced
  • a pinch of ground ginger
  • 1 and 1/2 pounds of salmon
  • 8 oz very thin rice noodles
  • 2 bunches fresh asparagus (you can do 1 bunch I did 2 as I LOVE asparagus)
  • salt & pepper, to taste
  • olive oil
  • Start by preheating your oven to 350 degrees.
  • For the marinade, in a medium bowl, combine the sesame oil, honey, soy sauce, rice vinegar, garlic, ginger and stir to blend.
  • Place the salmon in a baking dish skin-side down.
  • Then pour the marinade over the salmon, cover and refrigerate for 1 hour.
  • while salmon marinates, I made a 2nd batch of the sauce and brought it to a boil, then let it simmer, and then turned it down to low until I needed it.
  • Then follow the instructions on the package for the rice noodles and cook them. I think mine cooked in like 5 minutes. It was so fast. Drain and set aside
  • Then grab the asparagus wash and cut the ends off
  • I placed mine in a cast iron skillet, coated the bottom of the pan with a little olive oil and spread the asparagus out in the pan and drizzled a little olive oil over the top as well
  • Seasoned them with salt and pepper, to taste
  • Then I placed the asparagus in the oven and baked for about 20 minutes
  • while the asparagus was baking, I grabbed the salmon out of the fridge 10 minutes before I baked it to take the chill off . Then I threw the salmon (In the same pan I marinated it in) in the oven with the asparagus and baked for 10 minutes at 350 degree, then I switched pans and placed the salmon on a broil safe pan and threw it back in the oven and broiled it for a few minutes until it caramelized the way I wanted it. I removed the asparagus when the 20 minutes was up and set that aside and continued broiling the salmon until I got the color I liked. (Might have been more than a few minutes).
  • When I got the color I was looking for, I turned the oven off and removed the salmon and then grabbed a plate and placed some rice noodles on the plate, Then I cut the salmon in half and then I grabbed a spatula and slid it under the salmon and removed the skin and then I took the salmon and broke it up into bite size pieces and then placed the salmon pieces on top of the rice noodles
  • Then I took the 2nd batch of sauce I made from the sauce pan and spooned a little over the top of the salmon pieces
  • Then I placed several pieces of asparagus on the side and you are ready to eat!
Leave a Reply

