Deviled Eggs

So I’ve always been a fan of how my mom made deviled eggs. So I have always done mine the same way and just added in a few extra things here and there. Most people use may-o when making deviled eggs, but my mom used miracle whip. So that is what I have always done. So here are Mom inspired deviled eggs, al la Jamie

I made these for Thanksgiving last year (yes I am SO far behind on my posting) So there is a lot of eggs

So boil your eggs.
DSC_0477-1

I ALWAYS boil my eggs too long and I did with these. Maybe boil the eggs 15-20 minutes as I boiled mine for 30 and that was too long

So after I boil my eggs, I drain them and then put them in a big enough boil to where all the eggs are covered with cold water.
DSC_0483-1

DSC_0484-1

Then I put the bowl in the fridge and let the eggs chill for about an hour or longer. I don’t know if this is for real or what? But when I do this, It seems to make the peeling the eggs easier for me. I find the shell doesn’t stick to the egg as bad. I know there are so many tricks in the book, like add salt to water or whatever. But this is what works for me. Maybe you have your own way. But this is mine.

So once you let the eggs chill in the fridge in water for an hour (or longer) then peel them and rinse then I drain them and dry them on paper towels
DSC_0592-1

and then cut them in half
DSC_0593-1

Remove the yolks and add them to a medium bowl
DSC_0595-1

and place the egg half’s on a platter or plate big enough to hold them all.

Then I take a fork and mash all the yolks
DSC_0598-1

DSC_0599-1

So everyone uses may-o in their deviled eggs, and I use miracle whip, so since these deviled eggs weren’t for just me, I used both miracle whip and may-o

So for the filling I added the following:
mustard (I like yellow)
May-o
miracle whip
salt
freshly ground black pepper
Smoked Paprika (My mom would top her deviled eggs with paprika, but to me paprika has no flavor, so I used smoked paprika for flavor and to add a little color and decoration)
DSC_0606-1

I mashed up the yolks as well as I could
DSC_0608-1

So now I added the miracle whip and may-o (I didn’t measure of course) so start with 1/2 a cup of each, I probably used a little more miracle whip like 3/4 cup, and then about a tablespoon of yellow mustard. I did this all on taste

Also my  would add a little sugar as well. So I added in about 1/2 a teaspoon of sugar for a little sweetness. You don’t have to do this, But I did it cause that’s how mom did it. (insert smiley face here)
DSC_0610-1

mix that all together, add more of anything if you need, I also seasoned with salt and pepper, to taste

Then I always like to may my eggs pretty. So I filled a zip lock bag up and used one of my frosting tips to fill each egg. You can just use a spoon to fill yours
DSC_0611-1

DSC_0612-1

DSC_0613-1

Then I sprinkled a little smoked paprika over each egg and then I chopped up some green onion and topped each egg with a green onion. You don’t need to do this, I just did it for extra decoration.
DSC_0614-1

And serve!

Recipe

  • So boil your eggs.
  • boil the eggs 15-20 minutes
  • drain them and then put them in a big enough boil to where all the eggs are covered with cold water.
  • Then place bowl in the fridge and let the eggs chill for about an hour or longer.
  • So once you let the eggs chill in the fridge in water for an hour (or longer) then I drain them and dry them on paper towels and peel them
  • and then cut them in half
  • Remove the yolks and add them to a medium bowl
  • and place the egg half’s on a platter or plate big enough to hold them all.
  • Then I take a fork and mash all the yolks
  • So for the filling I added the following:
  • mustard (I like yellow)
  • May-o
  • miracle whip
  • salt
  • freshly ground black pepper
  • Smoked Paprika (My mom would top her deviled eggs with paprika, but to me paprika has no flavor, so I used smoked paprika for flavor and to add a little color and decoration)
  • I mashed up the yolks as well as I could
  • So now I added the miracle whip and may-o (I didn’t measure of course) so start with 1/2 a cup of each, I probably used a little more miracle whip like 3/4 cup, and then about a tablespoon of yellow mustard. I did this all on taste
  • Also my would add a little sugar as well. So I added in about 1/2 a teaspoon of sugar for a little sweetness. You don’t have to do this, But I did it cause that’s how mom did it.
  • mix that all together, add more of anything if you need, I also seasoned with salt and pepper, to taste
  • Then I always like to may my eggs pretty. So I filled a zip lock bag up and used one of my frosting tips to fill each egg. You can just use a spoon to fill yours
  • Then I sprinkled a little smoked paprika over each egg and then I chopped up some green onion and topped each egg with a green onion. You don’t need to do this, I just did it for extra decoration.
  • And serve!
Leave a Reply

