Homemade Ranch Dressing and Stacey’s Birthday Dinner

So back in August (yes I know I am so far behind on my postings) I wanted to make my good, great, awesome friend Stacey dinner for her birthday. So I emailed her and asked her what she wanted for her dinner…Stacey is a busy lady and she lives 90 miles from me so we don’t get to see each other often and I have never cooked her a Jamie meal, so I wanted to cook her and her hubby and kids a nice meal of things she liked. So I asked her and this is what she requested: fried catfish, with hush puppies, watermelon and salad with REAL ranch dressing, not the bottled stuff or packet stuff…OK you got it…

So I decided on The pioneer woman’s ranch dressing because I LOVE the Pioneer woman

I doubled this recipe as I LOVE ranch and I was cooking for 7 of us and I wanted leftover ranch for a salad for myself for the next couple of nights with dinner. Because (again) I LOVE ranch).

3 cloves of Garlic, minced
Salt, To Taste
1/4 cup Italian Flat-leaf Parsley, chopped
2 Tablespoons Fresh Chives, minced
1 cup (Real) Mayonnaise
1/2 cup Sour Cream
Buttermilk (as Needed To Desired Consistency)
White Vinegar (about 2 tablespoons)
Worcestershire Sauce, (few dashes)
Fresh Dill (I did about 1/3 a cup)
Cayenne Pepper (I did a teaspoon)
Paprika (I did a teaspoon)
dried Oregano (I did a teaspoon)
Tabasco (5-6 dashes)
DSC_0022.JPG-1

Mince the garlic
DSC_0023.JPG-1

DSC_0025.JPG-1

DSC_0028.JPG-1

then sprinkle about an 1/8 to ¼ teaspoon of salt on it
DSC_0029.JPG-1

and mash it into a paste with a fork.
DSC_0032.JPG-1

Then Chop the parsley,
DSC_0033.JPG-1

chives
DSC_0035.JPG-1

DSC_0036.JPG-1

DSC_0037.JPG-1

Dill, finely
DSC_0040.JPG-1

and set aside

In a bowl combine the Mayonnaise
DSC_0042.JPG-1

Sour cream
DSC_0044.JPG-1

and buttermilk
DSC_0047.JPG-1

Vinegar (I added in 2 tablespoons)
DSC_0049.JPG-1

few dashes of Worcestershire Sauce
DSC_0052.JPG-1

a teaspoon of Cayenne Pepper (Stacey likes things spicy, so I kept that in mind)
DSC_0055.JPG-1

Paprika (about 1 teaspoon)
DSC_0056.JPG-1

Dried Oregano (about 1 teaspoon)
DSC_0057.JPG-1

DSC_0058.JPG-1

5-6 dashes of Tabasco
DSC_0059.JPG-1

I also added in about a teaspoon of garlic salt
DSC_0061.JPG-1

(and of course) I also added in about a teaspoon of creole seasoning
DSC_0062.JPG-1

I also added in about 1/4 a teaspoon of salt
DSC_0063.JPG-1

Mix everything together with a whisk and mix really well.

I tasted mine several times for flavoring
DSC_0065.JPG-1

DSC_0067.JPG-1

then I added in the garlic I smashed up earlier and all the fresh herbs as well
DSC_0068.JPG-1

I decided to bust out my electric hand blender to make sure all the herbs were nice and chopped up finely, I didn’t want someone to get a big chunk of dill or parsley
DSC_0070.JPG-1

I blended the dressing really well
DSC_0072.JPG-1

then tasted it for seasonings again, add in more of what it was missing, if it’s not missing anything, then leave it as is! Mine was perfect!
DSC_0073.JPG-1

Looks like ranch dressing!
DSC_0075.JPG-1

I LOVE ranch dressing!
DSC_0076.JPG0-1

I added mine to a bottle, to make it easier for pouring
DSC_0078.JPG-1

DSC_0079.JPG-1

These are the 4 extra seasonings that I ended up adding in on my own, about a teaspoon of each
DSC_0082.JPG-1

I let the dressing chill most of the day, while I cooked everything else, tasting it to make sure I got the seasoning right!

I also made Stacey a brownie cake. She LOVES Brownies, Pecans and Caramel. So I made her a turtle brownie cake
DSC_0083.JPG-1

DSC_0089.JPG-1

DSC_0092.JPG-1

DSC_0099.JPG-1

DSC_0103.JPG-1

DSC_0109.JPG-1

DSC_0120.JPG-1

I wanted this cake to be pretty amazing, just like my friend!
DSC_0124.JPG-1

DSC_0126.JPG-1

DSC_0133.JPG-1

I also made homemade bacon bits for the salad as well with REAL bacon!
DSC_0097.JPG-1

Watermelon
DSC_0096.JPG-1

The Birthday girl
DSC_0140.JPG-1

I had Stacey’s son Blaise sample the ranch dressing to make sure it was ok…he approved!
DSC_0142.JPG-1

Hush puppies
DSC_0155.JPG-1

cards the kiddies made their momma!
DSC_0190.JPG-1

mmmmmm salad with homemade ranch dressing…the BEST!
DSC_0197.JPG-1

catfish
DSC_0199.JPG-1

Happy Birthday Dear Friend!
DSC_0158.JPG-1

Recipe

  • 3 cloves of Garlic, minced
  • Salt, To Taste
  • 1/4 cup Italian Flat-leaf Parsley, chopped
  • 2 Tablespoons Fresh Chives, minced
  • 1 cup (Real) Mayonnaise
  • 1/2 cup Sour Cream
  • Buttermilk (as Needed To Desired Consistency)
  • White Vinegar (about 2 tablespoons)
  • Worcestershire Sauce, (few dashes)
  • Fresh Dill (I did about 1/3 a cup)
  • Cayenne Pepper (I did a teaspoon)
  • Paprika (I did a teaspoon)
  • Fresh Oregano (I did a teaspoon)
  • Tabasco (5-6 dashes)
  • Mince the garlic
  • then sprinkle about an 1/8 to ¼ teaspoon of salt on it
  • and mash it into a paste with a fork.
  • Then Chop the parsley, chives Dill, finely
  • and set aside
  • In a bowl combine the Mayonnaise, Sour cream and buttermilk
  • Vinegar (I added in 2 tablespoons)
  • few dashes of Worcestershire Sauce
  • a teaspoon of Cayenne Pepper (Stacey likes things spicy, so I kept that in mind)
  • Paprika (about 1 teaspoon)
  • Dried Oregano (about 1 teaspoon)
  • 5-6 dashes of Tabasco
  • I also added in about a teaspoon of garlic salt
  • (and of course) I also added in about a teaspoon of creole seasoning
  • Mix everything together with a whisk and mix really well.
  • I tasted mine several times for flavoring
  • then I added in the garlic I smashed up earlier and all the fresh herbs as well
  • I decided to bust out my electric hand blender to make sure all the herbs were nice and chopped up finely, I didn’t want someone to get a big chunk of dill or parsley
  • I blended the dressing really well
  • then tasted it for seasonings again, add in more of what it was missing, if it’s not missing anything, then leave it as is! Mine was perfect!
  • I let the dressing chill most of the day, while I cooked everything else, tasting it to make sure I got the seasoning right!
Leave a Reply

