Fruit Salad with Homemade whipped cream

My mother in law had us over for dinner one night and I (of course) asked what I could make/bring. She had requested a dessert, but something healthier. So I thought why not fruit salad. She also likes things that are Light and fresh. So this is what I came up with…

So I went with fruit that was on sale…

6 oz Blueberries, washed

32 oz or 2 pounds of strawberries, washed and cut into bite size pieces
4 bananas, peeled and sliced
then I thought, instead of sprinkling sugar over the fruit, because I like sugar sprinkled over my strawberries, I’ll make a vanilla bean whipped cream to go over the top
So Mexican vanilla or regular vanilla
one pint of heavy whipping cream
Seeds from 1 vanilla bean
sugar

So I used my kitchen aid mixer to do the whipped cream with the whisk attachment

Add the whole container of heavy whipping cream to the bowl

Then add in 1 tbsp of the vanilla (I used clear mexican vanilla)

then add  in the seeds from the vanilla bean

then add in 3 tbsp of granulated sugar

then turn mixer to medium high-speed

Mix the whipped cream until you get stiff peaks

See the little specks of vanilla bean? I put the whipped cream into a container and put it in the fridge to chill, until you are ready to use it.

so grab a medium/large bowl and add the washed blueberries

Then add the strawberries

I love the glass bowl I used (got it from Ikea) I am obsessed with bowls and kitchen stuffs! (Hmmm image that).

next add the banana slices

then add the zest of one lemon (adds a nice freshness)

Then add the juice of 2 lemons, helps the bananas from turning brown and adds extra freshness to the fruit and a little tang!

Stir the fruit, zest and juice all together

Then I added in a few mint leaves to make the salad look extra pretty

cover bowl and let the fruit chill in fridge for about an hour before serving.
Then when ready to serve, add desired amount to bowl or plate and add desired amount of whipped cream to the top of your fruit. (I piped the whipped cream over the fruit to make it look extra pretty).


 

Recipe

6 oz Blueberries, washed
32 oz or 2 pounds of strawberries, washed and cut into bite size pieces
4 bananas, peeled and sliced

So Mexican vanilla or regular vanilla
one pint of heavy whipping cream
Seeds from 1 vanilla bean
sugar

So I used my kitchen aid mixer to do the whipped cream with the whisk attachment
Add the whole container of heavy whipping cream to the bowl
Then add in 1 tbsp of the vanilla (I used clear mexican vanilla)
then add  in the seeds from the vanilla bean
then add in 3 tbsp of granulated sugar
then turn mixer to medium high-speed
Mix the whipped cream until you get stiff peaks
See the little specks of vanilla bean? I put the whipped cream into a container and put it in the fridge to chill, until you are ready to use it.
so grab a medium/large bowl and add the washed blueberries
Then add the strawberries
I love the glass bowl I used (got it from Ikea) I am obsessed with bowls and kitchen stuffs! (Hmmm image that).
next add the banana slices
then add the zest of one lemon (adds a nice freshness)
Then add the juice of 2 lemons, helps the bananas from turning brown and adds extra freshness to the fruit and a little tang!
Stir the fruit, zest and juice all together
Then I added in a few mint leaves to make the salad look extra pretty
cover bowl and let the fruit chill in fridge for about an hour before serving.
Then when ready to serve, add desired amount to bowl or plate and add desired amount of whipped cream to the top of your fruit. (I piped the whipped cream over the fruit to make it look extra pretty).

Leave a Reply

