Jalapeno Poppers

Who doesn’t love bacon?
So true.:

If you don’t, then you need to seek professional help! Because bacon is love…

source

So I made these babies for my friend Stacey’s craw-fish boil last summer….

You will need a shit-ton of jalapenos, or as many that will fit in a bag at the grocery store. So 1 1/2 – 2 pounds

You will need 2 pounds of bacon…and in the picture that I have posted the bacon is thick cut. I recommend getting the thin cut bacon as it wraps around the jalapeno WAY better….I’ve made this recipe a few times and each time I learn something new to make it easier to make them.

When cutting and washing the jalapenos, I HIGHLY recommend wearing gloves. I have learned this (the hard way) by not wearing gloves and then washing my hands and then rubbing my eyes after (like a dumb ass) and holy BURNING! So don’t be a dummy like me, and wear some damn gloves!

So start by cutting the jalapenos in 1/2 length wise. Then I washed them, as I took the seeds out. You can leave the seeds and membranes in for hotter poppers. I took out seeds and the membranes and there were some that were still pretty dang hot.

I got 3 pounds of cream cheese, but did not use it all. I recommend getting 1 1/2 to 2 pounds cream cheese. I also pulled the cream cheese out about an hour before I used it. So it comes a little to room temperature and it makes it easier to smear into the jalapeno.

now that the jalapenos are cut and seeded, start smearing the cream cheese goodness into them, I added as much that would fit, maybe even more, because who the f*ck doesn’t like cream cheese?

So then when wrapping the peppers, you will need to use a full piece of bacon for each pepper. I learned this through trial and error. Many errors. I tried cutting the pieces in thirds, and in half. I even tried just laying a small piece of bacon on top of the cream cheese, (What was I thinking, Not even enough). No sir, you need a whole strip of that bacon love to wrap around your popper.

I ended up having to run to the store to get another pound or 2 of bacon. I still didn’t have enough. So I ended up cutting the strips of bacon in half, length wise and again, still not enough bacon. USE A WHOLE STRIP OF BACON and make sure you get enough!
Source

So instead of baking the poppers, I HIGHLY recommend grilling them. They take longer but hey

Grill them until the bacon is nice and crisp on the edges and the cream cheese is nice and bubbly. Depending on how full your grill is and how high it is (can’t turn it too high as you will burn the poppers) and how many poppers you add to your grill they can take 30-45 minutes to grill…But so worth the wait, TRUST ME!


So true...:
Source


Recipe

You will need a shit-ton of jalapenos, or as many that will fit in a bag at the grocery store. So 1 1/2 – 2 pounds

You will need 2-4 pounds of bacon…I got thick cut bacon, I recommend getting the thin cut bacon as it wraps around the jalapenos WAY better….

When cutting and washing the jalapenos, I HIGHLY recommend wearing gloves.

So start by cutting the jalapenos in 1/2 length wise. Then I washed them, as I took the seeds out. You can leave the seeds and membranes in for hotter poppers.

I recommend getting 1 1/2 to 2 pounds cream cheese. I also pulled the cream cheese out about an hour before I used it. So it comes a little to room temperature and it makes it easier to smear into the jalapeno. Now that the jalapenos are cut and seeded, start smearing the cream cheese goodness into them, I added as much that would fit, maybe even more.

So then when wrapping the peppers, you will need to use a full piece of bacon for each pepper. again USE A WHOLE STRIP OF BACON!
So instead of baking the poppers, I HIGHLY recommend grilling them.

Grill them until the bacon is nice and crisp on the edges and the cream cheese is nice and bubbly. Depending on how full your grill is and how high it is (can’t turn it too high as you will burn the poppers) and how many poppers you add to your grill they can take 30-45 minutes to grill…But so worth the wait, TRUST ME!

Leave a Reply

