My Go-to Cucumber Salad

I LOVE Cucumbers! LOVE LOVE LOVE!

I love Cucumber salad! I could eat cucumbers EVERY day of my life! I really could! They never get old to me!

So whenever I make cucumber salad this recipe is the one I think of:

On the blog post where I got the recipe the original name for it is called “Kelsie’s awesome cucumber salad

So you will need:

The original recipe is a larger batch, I adjusted the recipe a little to make it my own
3- 4 large cucumbers, peeled and sliced thick, or thin (I did them thick)


2 medium tomatoes, chopped
1/2 medium red onion, diced

For the Dressing:

In a small bowl whisk together all the dressing ingredients.


1/2 cup cider vinegar


4 Tablespoons canola oil


2-3 Tbsp honey, (If you want it to taste sweeter, add more honey)


1 tsp celery salt


1 tsp dried basil


1 tsp ground mustard


1 tsp garlic powder


salt (to taste)


1/2 tsp dried oregano


few dashes of cayenne pepper

Now for the salad:

Place the cucumbers in a large bowl

 

Then add the onion

then the tomatoes

then pour the dressing you made over the cucumbers, onion, and tomatoes

Toss everything together

I feel like the longer the cucumbers sit in the dressing, the better it is. I’ve even let it sit overnight and tossed it a few times and it kind of pickled the cucumbers and the flavors were amazing! I’ve tried it right after I made it, without letting it sit and it’s still good, but I think it’s even better if it sits longer.

So if you are in a hurry, then mix everything together and eat it. If you have an hour, then let the salad chill in the fridge for an hour or 30 minutes. If you can let it sit overnight, I recommend letting it sit.

Recipe:
3- 4 large cucumbers, peeled and sliced thick, or thin (I did them thick)
2 medium tomatoes, chopped
1/2 medium red onion, diced

For the Dressing:
In a small bowl whisk together all the dressing ingredients.
1/2 cup cider vinegar
4 Tablespoons canola oil
2-3 Tbsp honey, (If you want it to taste sweeter, add more honey)
1 tsp celery salt
1 tsp dried basil
1 tsp ground mustard
1 tsp garlic powder
salt (to taste)
1/2 tsp dried oregano
few dashes of cayenne pepper

Now for the salad:
Place the cucumbers in a large bowl
Then add the onion
then the tomatoes
then pour the dressing you made over the cucumbers, onion, and tomatoes

Toss everything together

I feel like the longer the cucumbers sit in the dressing, the better it is. I’ve even let it sit overnight and tossed it a few times and it kind of pickled the cucumbers and the flavors were amazing! I’ve tried it right after I made it, without letting it sit and it’s still good, but I think it’s even better if it sits longer.

Leave a Reply

