Tomato, Pancetta, Onion – Light and Fresh Pasta al la Jamie

So when I did this recipe, I totally just made it up . It was on a Sunday night and I wasn’t really in the mood to cook. But I didn’t and never want to eat out. So I just made this up as I went along with the help of Normy chopping and cooking with me…

So I bought some Pancetta at the store earlier that day and was going to use it for another recipe but decided I will use it for this recipe instead.

So you will need the following for this recipe:

Olive Oil
Pancetta – about 6 slices
1 Red onion, chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced
4 tomatoes, washed and chopped (2 regular tomatoes & 2 heirloom)
Salt & Pepper to taste
Red pepper flakes, to taste
spaghetti pasta noodles
Freshly grated parmesan cheese
fresh basil leaves 5-7, chopped

DSC_0446-1

So six slices of pancetta (you can add more or less) stack the slices on top of each other and then slice like so:

DSC_0443-1

DSC_0445-1

Then chop the strips into chunks like so (good job Normy)

DSC_0448-1

Place in a bowl and set aside

DSC_0452-1

then get a red onion and chop that up as well (I like small to medium dice)
DSC_0455-1

DSC_0457-1

DSC_0458-1

DSC_0459-1

So Normy and I went to the Farmer’s Market the day before when I made this dish, and I hadn’t decided what I wanted to make with the tomatoes I had gotten. I LOVE TOMATOES! Especially if they home grown or farmers market tomatoes. To me they taste SO much better that the grocery store tomatoes. So I got some regular tomatoes and then I got 2 Heirloom tomatoes (My favorite)

So I used two of the regular tomatoes and two of the heirloom tomatoes for this dish, wash them and then chop them up

DSC_0461-1

DSC_0463-1

set them aside.
DSC_0466-1

Then get a medium/large Skillet. I used my cast-iron skillet cause well I LOVES it.

Coat the bottom of the pan with Olive oil and turnto medium High heat. Then add the chopped onions
DSC_0465-1

Cook onions until they are translucent about 8-10 minutes

then add the pancetta to the onions
DSC_0467-1

DSC_0469-1

cook pancetta for about 5-7 minutes

Then add in 2 minced garlic cloves
DSC_0471-1

cook garlic for a minute or two and then add in the chopped tomatoes

DSC_0473-1

DSC_0475-1

add salt and pepper to taste and a little bit of red pepper flakes for a little kick.
DSC_0476-1

stir tomatoes and cook for 2-3 minutes just to basically warm the tomatoes through and then turn the heat off.
DSC_0479-1

So while I was cooking the tomatoes Normy cooked the pasta. We did spaghetti noodles and then he also grated some fresh parmesan and chopped some fresh basil leaves

So place some cooked pasta in a bowl and then top with the onion, pancetta, and tomatoes and then top with fresh basil and the fresh grated parmesan cheese
DSC_0480-1

and you have you some light and fresh pasta
DSC_0482-1