Chicken Tortilla Soup

Recipe

For the soup:
1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1 1/2 tsp. cumin
1 1/2 tsp. chili powder
1/2 tsp. garlic powder
1/2 tsp. black pepper
1/4 tsp. kosher salt
1/4 tsp. oregano
1/4 tsp. paprika
1 Tbs. olive oil, divided
1 large red onion, diced
DSC_0065-1

2 cloves garlic, minced
1 red bell pepper, diced
DSC_0064-1

DSC_0066-1
1 jalapeno pepper, diced
DSC_0083-1

1 lime, juiced and zested
1/2 cup cilantro, chopped
1 (15 oz) can black beans, drained and rinsed
1 (10 oz) can green chilies
1 (14.5) oz can diced fire roasted tomatoes
1 Tbs. tomato paste
32 oz low sodium chicken broth
Salt & Pepper to taste

for garnish
sliced limes
diced avocado
Tortilla chips
salsa
chopped fresh cilantro
shredded cheese
DSC_0044-1

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a small bowl, mix the cumin, chili powder, garlic powder, black pepper, kosher salt, oregano and paprika.
DSC_0049-1

DSC_0052-1

Brush both sides of each chicken breast with light coating of olive oil.
DSC_0053-1

Sprinkle a small amount of the spice mixture onto both sides and each chicken breast
DSC_0057-1

DSC_0058-1

DSC_0061-1

DSC_0062-1

DSC_0063-1

and transfer to a non-stick baking sheet. Roast the chicken in the oven for 20-25 minutes, turning once, until the chicken is cooked through. Allow the chicken to cool for 10 minutes,
DSC_0097-1

and then shred. (I cubed mine).
DSC_0112-1

While the chicken cooks, heat the remaining olive oil over medium heat in a large Dutch Oven.
DSC_0068-1

Add the onions
DSC_0073-1

and garlic,
DSC_0075-1

along with a pinch of salt, and saute for 3-4 minutes until the onions are very fragrant and they begin to soften. Add the bell pepper, jalapeno pepper,
DSC_0085-1

DSC_0088-1

lime juice
DSC_0089-1

DSC_0091-1

and zest and cilantro
DSC_0092-1

and stir well. Cook for another 3-4 minutes until the peppers begin to soften. Add the remaining spice mixture, black beans,
DSC_0094-1

DSC_0095-1

green chilies,
DSC_0096-1

diced tomatoes
DSC_0100-1

DSC_0101-1

DSC_0102-1

and stir well.
DSC_0103-1

Cook for about 6 minutes until all the vegetables are tender. Add the tomato paste and stir to combine.

Slowly stir in the chicken broth

DSC_0104-1

DSC_0109-1

DSC_0111-1

and add the cooked chicken
DSC_0113-1

and bring the soup to a boil. Cover, reduce to a simmer and cook for another 15 minutes. stirring occasionally. Add salt & pepper to taste.

Serve!

(I served mine with chopped tomatoes and sliced avocados)

DSC_0117-1

DSC_0118-1

DSC_0120-1

DSC_0121-1

Things I like Thursday

Happy Thursday!

Last Thursday I didn’t do Things I like Thursday because well I didn’t think anyone would notice! But someone DID notice! So I can’t miss this Thursday!

So here we are things that I found on the interwebs that I like and wanted to share with you all!

I love anything and everything Buffalo chicken style, so I saw this: Buffalo Chicken Meatball Sandwiches and had to share…

buffalo chicken meatball recipe

These look yummy! Roasted Jalapeno Popper Potato Skins

Roasted Jalapeno Popper Potato Skins via Iowa Girl Eats

YUM! I love blueberries and I LOVE lemon and the two go great together! Mini Lemon-Blueberry Pies

Mini Lemon-Blueberry Pies

These look good and sound good Cajun Alfredo Chicken Wings

Cajun Alfredo Chicken Wings

Sounds Yummy! Sticky Citrus Chicken Drumsticks

Sticky Citrus Grilled Drumsticks by sixtyone45

Anything with crawfish or Cajun in the title I am all for and it catches my eye: Crawfish Beignets with Cajun Dipping Sauce

crawfish beignets 016

YUM! Cheesy Jalapeño Bites

Cheesy Jalapeño Bites

Lately I have been craving mac and cheese! But I’m eating good! So I will just drool over the pictures  online instead! Classic macaroni cheese(mac n cheese)

I LOVE Edamame! And I have a LOT in my freezer right now! So I should make this recipe: Sweet and Spicy Soy Glazed Edamame

edamame

There are no words for this next picture….

The Ultimate Chocolate Peanut Butter Brownie Sundae

The Ultimate Chocolate Peanut Butter Brownie Sundaes

Bacon makes everything better! Breakfast Torta

Pinned Image

I have never made ribs and would LOVE to make them, sometime! Dry Spice Rubbed Pork Ribs

BBQ Pork Ribs TasteFood 1

Love this! Love is…

This cake looks yummy! grapefruit yogurt cake

MMMM eggs! Brown Butter Scrambled Eggs

Brown Butter Scrambled Eggs Recipe

AMEN!

Pinned Image

LOVE THIS QUOTE! Reminds me of my friend Stacey!

Pinned Image

I do have high standards of myself and others and I usually get criticized

 

YUMMY! Peanut Butter and Jelly Donuts

Pinned Image

Strawberries

Strawberries

I want to make this cake for valentines. strawberries and cream cake

Strawberries and Cream "Heart" Cake | gimmesomeoven.com

Some more donuts. Jelly Donut Holes with Canned Biscuits Dough

Canned Biscuits Donut Holes @diethood 682x1024 Jelly Donut Holes with Canned Biscuits Dough

Metabolism Boosting Foods

Good to know! How To Pick Out Perfect Avocados

Simple trick to buying perfectly ripe avocados | Recipe By Photo

I love Sandwiches! My first job was making sandwiches! I love it! Look at this Sandwich!

Pinned Image

the recipe I found for this is for Roasted Peppers Salsa

But I HAD to share a picture of the sammie! It looks so amazing to me!

I always crave burgers I hardly eat them! So I just drool over yummy pictures instead like these:

Daddy’s Hamburgers

Daddy's Hamburgers || FoodieCrush

I LOVE Veggies! My Fav! this would be good (I think) Open Faced Veggie Quesadillas

Open Faced Veggie Quesadillas

here you go! A pretty cupcake! I LOVE Cupcakes! Chocolate Cupcakes with Salted Caramel Frosting

chocolate cupcakes caramel frosting

I have been dying to make Beignets! These look great! Big Easy Beignets
Big Easy Beignets

This sounds and looks goooood! Super Quick Cinnamon Sugar Baguette

Super Quick Cinnamon Sugar Baguette

I want to make this salad! OH and I LOVE The Pioneer Woman! Buffalo Chicken Salad

DSC_4080

and that’s it!