Dry-Rub Chicken with Honey Barbecue Sauce

I haven’t posted a recipe in a WEEK! (But who’s counting) ME! Oh How I miss posting recipes! I am always making them, but it’s hard to find time to post them! Between work, working out, spending time with family, baking, making salsa, sleeping, and trying to catch up on sleep and trying to rest…I wish I didn’t need sleep! I could get SO much done!

Recipe

Chicken:
1 (3-pound) whole chicken
1 tablespoon paprika
2 teaspoons lemon pepper
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1/8 teaspoon seasoned salt

DSC_0177-1
Sauce:
1/2 cup ketchup
1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
2 tablespoons cider vinegar
2 tablespoons honey
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
DSC_0189-1

To prepare chicken, remove and discard giblets and neck from chicken. Rinse chicken with cold water; pat dry. (In the Recipe it tells you to cut up chicken into pieces, but I left it whole, thought it would taste better)

Combine paprika and next 4 ingredients (paprika through seasoned salt).
DSC_0181-1
Rub paprika mixture under loosened skin, and rub over breast and drumsticks. Gently press skin to secure. Cut a 1-inch slit in skin at the bottom of each breast half; insert tips of drumsticks into slits.
DSC_0185-1
DSC_0187-1

I baked my chicken at 350 for 1 hour and 30 minutes or until a thermometer registers 180°. Remove chicken from oven; place on a clean cutting surface. Cover with foil, and let stand 5 minutes.

To prepare sauce, combine ketchup and the remaining ingredients
DSC_0191-1
DSC_0194-1
in a small saucepan. Bring the sauce to a simmer over medium-low heat; cook 15 minutes, stirring frequently. Remove skin from the chicken, and brush with 1/3 cup sauce. Serve the remaining sauce with the chicken. (I basted my chicken with this sauce every 30 minutes and used it all to baste the chicken with)
DSC_0196-1