Penne All’Amatriciana

Lately I have been missing my friend Heather…

Heather lives in California…

That is TOO Far away from me…

I can NOT WAIT until 11/11/11 this year AS that is not ONLY my birthday BUT Heather is coming to see ME and Normy!

Heather is family to me, not just a friend.

Heather has known me since 10th grade, well 9th but we didn’t like each other so that doesn’t count…

She has seen me on good days and bad days and really bad days and she still LOVES me…

I needed a post about Heather, as you all know I LOVE to post about the people in my life, because like food I Love them!

So Heather, Oh Heather how I miss you friend From Jamie alllllll the way in Colorado….Sigh….Hurrrrry up November. (Maybe you should make another trip in May)

Here is Heather and me back in 1996 when we graduated High School…

HS graduation 1996
When we took a trip (My 1st time) to California…
Me and my friend Heather in San Fran - back in the day
and then In May of last year the 1st time I had seen her in 10 years…We just picked up where we left off…
P1450039
P1450133
Normy and Heather got along great! The 3 of us had a Blast together.
P1450069
I love Heather
P1450313
and the last time I saw her, My birthday from last year
P1570466-1
P1570543-1
P1570604-1
P1570612-1

So Heather this Post is for you as I added VODKA to it! MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM

recipe

8 ounces penne pasta
4 ounces pancetta or good-quality bacon, cubed
1 cup chopped onion
1 tablespoon minced garlic
(I also added in 1 pound of sliced, white Mushrooms)
1 large can (28 oz.) diced tomatoes
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 teaspoon red chile flakes
1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese

1. Cook pasta according to package directions; drain and set aside.

2. Cook pancetta in a large frying pan over medium-high heat until partly translucent. Spoon off most of the drippings. Add onion and garlic; and Mushrooms, cook, stirring often, until browned, 5 minutes.
DSC_0120-1
Add remaining ingredients except parmesan and cook over high heat until juices have reduced by half, about 10 minutes. Add pasta, stir to coat, and transfer to a bowl. Sprinkle with parmesan
DSC_0125-1
DSC_0128-1
DSC_0132-1
(I also added in Heavy Cream 1/2 cup and 1/2 cup vodka to make it like a Penne alla Vodka) (Add vodka in after you saute pancetta, onions and shrooms and add cream in last and simmer for an extra 10 minutes)

Grilled Balsamic Steak

Hello World!

It’s Me Jamie!

When my hubby and I go to the store I do things like this and make him take a picture of me. I ask if I embarrass him and he tells me “Never”!

Good answer Norman!

So I think that every weekend should be a 3 day weekend in summer. 2 days off is just not enough for me! This past weekend was so beautiful here in Denver! I had a cupcake tasting and the rest of the weekend I enjoyed with me Normy…Check it out…
DSC_0141-1
I saw this on the sidewalk and thought it was just awesome, so I (of course) took a picture…
DSC_0143-1
Normy and I tried this place to eat: Steubens it was on Diner’s, Drive Ins and Dives and a few of our friends have been there and well we needed and wanted to try it! We were NOT disappointed…
DSC_0176-1
I got a Bloody Mary
DSC_0167-1
and Normy got a Mimosa, Served in the coolest glass ever (I Think)
DSC_0169-1
I ate their BLT
DSC_0170-1
and Normy got huevos rancheros…(I am so bummed I didn’t get a picture)

If you live in Denver, you MUST go to this place if you haven’t already!
I also mentioned that I made cupcakes this weekend for a cupcake tasting Check em out too!
Lemon Poppy Seed (Normy liked these)
DSC_0069-1
DSC_0079-1
Peach cupcakes
DSC_0062-1
Strawberry Cupcakes with Chocolate Frosting
DSC_0096-1
DSC_0082-1
and Lemon Honey Cupcakes
DSC_0107-1
DSC_0116-1
and Now time for the Recipe I made:

recipe

1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
2 teaspoons dark brown sugar
1 garlic clove, minced
1 pound Flank steak
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt, divided
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
DSC_0003-1

Combine first 4 ingredients in a large zip-top plastic bag. Add steak, turning to coat; seal and marinate at room temperature 25 minutes,
DSC_0004-1
turning once. Remove steak from bag; discard marinade.

Heat grill to medium-high heat. Sprinkle both sides of steak with 1/4 teaspoon salt and pepper. Add steak to grill;
DSC_0022-1
DSC_0024-1
cook 6-7 minutes on each side or until desired degree of doneness. Remove steak from grill; sprinkle with remaining 1/4 teaspoon salt. Tent with foil; let stand 5 minutes. Cut steak diagonally across the grain into thin slices.
DSC_0031-1
DSC_0032-1
I also made Jamie Potatoes
DSC_0017-1
DSC_0014-1
and Caprese Salad
DSC_0007-1
I Didn’t have fresh Basil so I used dried…
DSC_0011-1
And then we stuffed our faces!