Ode to Salmon & Toasted Sesame Ginger Salmon.

I LOVE Salmon. Bet you knew that already though! But JUST incase you didn’t, you do now!

Normy and I used to do Salmon Tuesdays before we moved, As the Store by us would get their seafood shipment in on Tuesday, so we wanted our salmon fresh! We also liked the Manager at the seafood counter. But then he left and the service started to suck and then we moved, so we no longer do Salmon Tuesdays. Boo Hoo!

My favorite place to get salmon is Whole Foods (no brainer there), then there is Costco, we can get a big 3 pound piece of salmon and it makes 4 meals for us. Two dinners and Two lunches, then last is King Soopers. But anymore, I really don’t care for King Soopers salmon. The seafood people are not friendly so that has turned me off, and I always find bones in the fish, and well I don’t really care for the taste. It doesn’t taste fresh to me…

So this is a post ALL about salmon! What brought this post on was last week, my Facebook, and Blog follower Dave asked me what is my favorite salmon recipe? So I got to searching and holy Salmon, I have a lot of Salmon recipes. So I thought I would do a post for you inspired by Dave!

Here is my #1 Favorite Salmon Recipe: Salmon with citrus salsa verde

DSC_0248-1

I would actually say it’s between these two. I love them both! Salmon Marinade

DSC_0698-1

Here’s another good one  Ginger Scallion Crusted Salmon (well they are all good).

Ginger-Scallion Crusted Salmon

I will share this next recipe with you as it was the most popular recipe I posted in February 2010 it had 179 views: Asian Salmon

Asian Salmon

This is another favorite of mine and I would have to say this is my third favorite Salmon recipe: Orange Glazed Salmon
P1510423-1

I make so many salmon recipes I can’t recall what they all taste like. Maybe I should make them again to confirm they are good…I mean if they weren’t good, I wouldn’t be posting them on my blog…

Here’s another one for you Sweet Spicy Glazed Salmon

DSC_0117-1

This recipe is pretty to me. I LOVE using fresh herbs! I think it just makes food more appealing to the eye, and who doesn’t like fresh herbs? I love them! Roasted salmon with green herbs
DSC_0308-1

I wanted to make this recipe because it called for Sriracha and I love Sriracha and the pictures from the recipe looked so amazing. I had to make it: Stuffed salmon with sriracha cream sauce

DSC_0096-1

Another one: Pineapple teriyaki glazed salmon

DSC_0138-1

this was fabulous Blackened Salmon

DSC_0315-1

I like every ingredient in this recipe Firecracker grilled salmon
DSC_0306-1

To me the 3 best things that go with salmon are: Butter, lemon and dill to make  Jamie’s buttery, dill, lemon salmon
DSC_0119-1

and that brings us to the newest salmon recipe I have made recipe

Toasted Sesame Ginger Salmon

1 1/2 pounds raw salmon

1/4 cup olive oil

2 tablespoons toasted sesame oil

2 tablespoons rice vinegar

2 tablespoons brown sugar

2 tablespoon soy sauce

2 garlic cloves, grated

1 tablespoons freshly grated ginger

1-2 tablespoons toasted sesame seeds

4 green onions, sliced
DSC_0044-1

DSC_0001-1

Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil and place a wire rack over top. Spray the rack with nonstick spray.

In a large bowl or baking dish, combine olive oil,
DSC_0004-1

DSC_0005-1

sesame oil,
DSC_0006-1

DSC_0008-1

soy sauce, garlic, ginger, vinegar,
DSC_0009-1

DSC_0016-1
brown sugar

and whisk well until combined.
DSC_0018-1

Add salmon to the dish or place everything in a ziplock bag, then refrigerate and marinate for 30 minutes.
DSC_0019-1

DSC_0020-1

DSC_0022-1

DSC_0023-1

DSC_0026-1

Preheat the broiler in your oven. (Or preheat your grill, etc if you prefer to use something else.)

Remove salmon with kitchen tongs and place directly on the wire rack. Sprinkle with a little bit of salt and pepper, then place directly under the broiler. Cook for 10-12 minutes, depending on the salmon’s thickness (our’s was just about an inch thick), until opaque and easily flakable with a fork. You can flip the salmon halfway through cooking if desired.

Remove and serve immediately, with a sprinkling of toasted sesame seeds, green onions and the glaze below.

Sesame Ginger Honey Glaze

1/4 cup honey
DSC_0029-1

1 teaspoon toasted sesame oil
DSC_0030-1

1 teaspoon soy sauce
DSC_0031-1

DSC_0032-1

1/2 teaspoon freshly grated ginger
DSC_0034-1

1/2 teaspoons toasted sesame seeds
DSC_0036-1

DSC_0037-1

Combine all ingredients in a bowl and whisk until smooth.
DSC_0042-1

Pour over salmon.
DSC_0046-1

DSC_0050-1

DSC_0053-1

DSC_0056-1

DSC_0060-1

DSC_0064-1

DSC_0067-1

Untitled

One thought on “Ode to Salmon & Toasted Sesame Ginger Salmon.

Leave a comment